paris when it drizzles

what to do when it rains? play house!

bonjour guys! hope all is well in your world. here in paris it’s been a study in duality, both quiet and hectic, raining and sun, lonely without claudia II and busy with rearranging the apartment. i’ve been working with lorraine to freshen it up but my shots aren’t great. still i hope these will give you an idea of how much is going on in a small studio. really it couldn’t be more perfect. i love all her little details and with some of my flea finds it was fun to stage a bit and shoot it. she always has little flowers and surprises in drawers like these silk ones which i loved with the yellow glass.

a friend of mine told me about taking wide shots and then in tighter and tighter for close ups. sounds reasonable but it’s something i never thought to do so i’m giving it a whirl. hope these aren’t too repetitive.

anyway you may remember lorraine’s apartment (claudia II’s mom) from a couple years ago. not much has changed but a little rearranging really opened it up. the windows have been wide open for days.  no screens and no ac. and not a mosquito in sight.  just geraniums as far as the eye can see!

lorraine got new deschamps sheets and i’ve been busy getting bulbs, shades, a throw and new pillows. i’ll be renting it  for her on the off months so if you need a place when you’re in paree, let me know. it’s the quintessential pied à terre and feels like home with everything you need. well, actually i haven’t been able to figure out the tv, but then again, haven’t missed having it at all!

the bed is a double which is nice and roomy. the carvings are mind boggling.

i love the mirrored vanity and all her pretty things she shares with her guests.

i’m taking you around the room…this is out the window (obviously). an adult school is across the street which is great cause there’s never anyone there except some evening classes once in awhile.

the view is of the street  is of course, gorgeous. it’s in the heart of the marais on the very tiny rue des tournelles.

and the artwork is magnificent.

even in such a small place there’s room for everything including a chair to lounge in by the window.

a makeshift mantle (i light the candles and pretend there’s a fireplace)

lorraine found this intricately carved piece which fit perfectly over the window. it’s just another point to ponder when waking up slow…not to mention the glorious chandelier!

so the guy who installed it was a hack…it’s still pretty  ;p

around the other side is a marble top table for 2 to 4, perfect for working or having an intimate dinner party.

and of course, all the comforts of home with the tv and phone. i haven’t even shown you the kitchen and bath which are equally adorable but the sun just came out so i best get it while i can! bonne nuit and suite dreams!

ps: miss you, claudia deux, it’s not the same without you. you really made this house a home!

May 26, 2010. Decorating, Friends, Furniture, Lorraine's Apt, Paris Apartments.

31 Comments

  1. Melissa replied:

    Look at all the lovely things in this perfect-sized space! And the light ~ oh the light!

    Like

  2. Jean replied:

    Oh what a perfect little Paris apartment!

    Like

  3. Linda replied:

    I LOVE how you rearranged it! It feels more open now. Wish I was still there with ya!

    Like

  4. MyFavoriteFrenchAntiques replied:

    Your photography is TOPS ! My favorite are the ones with the reflections in the mirror.

    Like

  5. jisabird replied:

    Thank you for posting these pics. Such an inspiration. Can’t wait to see the bath and kitchen.

    I have so much space to work with, but I love making it feel more intimate and close. Thank you for the ideas.

    Like

  6. A Flourishing Perspective replied:

    Oh my goodness! It looks absolutely gorgeous. Love it!

    Thanks for posting these fantastic pictures, very inspirational and beautiful! :)

    Love your blog.

    Love,
    Rachel

    Like

  7. Cynthia Maniglia replied:

    I am catching up with your blog and as usual, it is a feast for starved eyes in search of Paris charm. What a fantastic job with the apartment decor and the photo technique of going wide and then close up is working, in my opinion.

    Then reading onto other previous posts … well, looking more than reading … I adore!
    We are going ot have rain soon.

    Like

  8. paris when it drizzles « the paris apartment | Banner HQ replied:

    […] See the article here: paris when it drizzles « the paris apartment […]

    Like

  9. Erica replied:

    Love the pink puff. She obviously doesn’t have a cat! That wouldn’t last long in my house.

    Like

  10. Christine@TheFiveSenses replied:

    Such a beautiful room and lovely photos! I love that chandelier. And what I wouldn’t give for that view!

    Like

  11. Gladys Hanning replied:

    Lovely post. Windows open to window boxes ~ our favorite. Glad & Celia/Junebug

    Like

  12. Karen replied:

    Love your site! Feels like I’m actually there, love that one with a peak of the adult school across the street.

    Like

  13. Judith replied:

    What a dream! I love the mirrored little vanity/ desk and those tiny candelabras!!! I’m in love! I’ve never seen anything like them! I’m on the hunt now for one or two. You are amazing! I was watching 9 by design and Cortney redid her friends apartment for her in one day and I was thinking to myself how heavenly it would be to have you do my home and voilà this post! I will live vicariously through this post!!! Hope you are having a fabulous trip!
    Xoxo
    Judith

    Like

  14. Kristin replied:

    Oh you are in Paris right now! Lucky you! Thank you for brightening my day by bringing me a little of Paris. I sooo love that apartment! Great blog btw!

    Kristin :)

    Like

  15. Sheila replied:

    Gorgeous. Fab photography work. I totally got the Paris vibe! Can you tell me a bit about the walls…is there any color on the walls, what is the finish and what is the construction–plaster?

    Like

  16. Claudia replied:

    The apartment is so charming and perfect. Your photos are beautiful, Claudia. It isn’t easy to shoot a small space. That bed is simply gorgeous – oh my lord, that carving!

    It looks like heaven to me – a little pied a terre in Paris. Ah, how wonderful.

    xo
    Claudia

    Like

  17. teri replied:

    what a perfect little place! so quintessentially paris!
    i hope you and claudia 2 are well! again, it was wonderful to have met you and spent time with you!
    xo
    teri

    Like

  18. Shane replied:

    I’m licking my lips like the cat who got the cream.
    I’ve been dreaming I was sitting in that great chair by the window, soaking up the sun and the view out on the beautiful Marais! I can feel it all as I’ve often walked that area and drooled at the prospect of having my own little pied a terre in a street such as that one.
    Enjoy Claudia.
    Hugs
    mme sevigne

    Like

  19. Chatelaine replied:

    What a place! Heavenly. I would love to stay there just for the view. But then the interior is tres magnifique!

    Like

  20. Splendid Willow replied:

    Oh My! I was going to show some pics from my home next week – but I don’t know if I dare after this! What a place! And the shot of the beautiful mirror reflecting the balcony should be framed. Stunning!

    Thank you for sharing.

    ox, Mon

    You are so on my blog roll!

    Like

  21. le petit cabinet de curiosites replied:

    Love your pics. This pied a terre is lovely

    Like

  22. kIm replied:

    Great pictures Claudia, I feel like I have been there! I would love to curl up in that bed with the windows wide open on a rainy day with a great book!
    Kim

    Like

  23. Paul replied:

    What a beautiful series of photos, Claudia!
    You’re so lucky that you have that wonderful apartment!

    Like

  24. Beadboard UpCountry replied:

    I agree with Melanie the Pied a terreis lovely , liveable and there are little visual amuse bouche all over the place love the candlesticks!!!!!!Maryanne xo

    Like

  25. Kate replied:

    Absolutely lovely!! I miss Paris! Your blog is so full of beautiful images, a treat to visit.

    Like

  26. Cris replied:

    So beautiful! Thank you for sharing such a lovely vignette! If we ever get to go back to Paris, I hope our schedule and budget works to stay there.

    I’d love to know more about the gray and white mirror in the first picture. Do you think it was originally made/painted in gray and white, or was it painted later? I ask because I have some mirrors that I’m thinking of painting (you know, the fairly cheap – and sometimes cheap looking – ornate but slightly tacky gold mirrors you can find at flea markets and antique stores). Is it a fairly flat, one color, gray? I had originally thought of going with more of a many layer zinc tone, but this is lighter and looks like a flat light gray and I hadn’t thought of that. Does the bow on top have highlights or is it just the result of the variegated surface?

    I know you are super busy, so I understand if you don’t have time to email answers. Thank you again for sharing your time in Paris!

    Like

    • theparisapartment replied:

      hi cris, i took a closer look at the mirror and even though it’s not a new paint job, it’s probably within the last 20 years. looks like they used not a flat but the next one up (eggshell)? cause it has the slightest sheen and soft finish to the touch. th color is a medium almost dark gray that has an even darker highlight barely noticeable. the white is perfect on the x ribbons but they may have gone a little overboard on the bow. still, from a distance it looks great and it’s a really easy and fun thing to do, i say you can’t go wrong but as usual, less is more, especially on highlights!

      Like

  27. Therese Waddell replied:

    Hi there Claudia,
    For a petite apartment, it’s surely filled with grande furniture and stories you could fill a book! By the way, your photography has come on in leaps and bounds. Did you get a new camera? Have a great day, Therese

    Like

    • theparisapartment replied:

      so true! it’s not like you need a mansion to have the finer things in life! thanks for the compliment on my skills, i believe it’s all in the edit. i spent hours cropping and choosing over 150 photos if you can believe it! and yes this is a different camera (sony dsc-h20), but i don’t love it for indoors and just got an Olympus that’s waiting at home!

      Like

  28. Heather replied:

    Amazingly gorgeous space, as always. All of the little details sent my heart aflutter!

    I’ve never been to Paris, it is of course on the long list of places to visit, but these images have moved it up to the top of the list!

    Thank you for sharing your work, so truly inspiring.

    Like

  29. Rosana Thomasi replied:

    This is wonderful! I love it! I follow you in twitter.

    Like

Leave a comment

Trackback URI