the art of simplicity

pinterest.com/pin/88875792616397784

good morning gang, how’s your week going? i have a photo shoot in an hour and finished the big job hanging over me. i treated myself to some pinterest time last night and found a smattering of simple pics full of inspiration.

pinterest.com/pin/88875792616397805

it got me thinking about what makes a great shot. with all the visual stimuli over here lately it’s easy to fall into to the ‘more is more’ frame of mind. when i look at what makes a great pic it’s not always what’s in it but also what’s not.

pinterest.com/pin/208150813997201763

what makes something memorable or at least noteworthy?

pinterest.com/pin/88875792616397748

not complicated decor necessarily

pinterest.com/pin/144467100516812798

or accessories or even flowers

pinterest.com/pin/144467100516249554

clarity,  purpose, a  story

pinterest.com/pin/88875792616397732

pinterest.com/pin/88875792616397702

conveying something when nothing is happening

pinterest.com/pin/88875792616397721

pinterest.com/pin/144467100516226723

pinterest.com/pin/88875792616397743

i’m going to simplify

pinterest.com/pin/208150813997201721

not  cram it all in

pinterest.com/pin/88875792616397559

so i’m off to go and do

pinterest.com/pin/88875792616397655

and try to make today aboutr doing less, not more. at least where photography’s concerned!

pinterest.com/pin/144467100516607084

have a great day!

March 14, 2012. Photography.

16 Comments

  1. phyllis replied:

    You are so right!
    Negative space is special space.
    I love those window ones…the dog looking out…and the flow-y pink
    sheers.
    Have a nice shoot :)

    Like

  2. Mademoiselle Poirot replied:

    Ah yes, I completely agree with the “less is more” approach, though I’m also guilty of simply having too many things I love… Tricky one ;-) Beautiful images. Have a lovely day xo

    Like

    • Karen Albert replied:

      Wonderful shots Claudia, I always have a challenge editing my own home; maybe because I have only (for the most part) items I really love!

      Xoxo
      Karena
      Art by Karena

      Like

  3. Shelly Gregory replied:

    It seems unanimous that “less is more”. And the second to the last photo with the chair, at the table, snuggled up by the window, that’s enough for me to have a peaceful moment in my day! “Aahhhh” is my sigh of contentment, as I sit in that chair with my coffee and reflect either on the start or the ending of the day! Lovely!

    Like

  4. This is Belgium replied:

    your bathroom mirror and light are perfect for a young couple who is looking for a simple solution just like that.. I sent your blog link on to them !

    Like

  5. Lelanie Slater replied:

    Wow, these images are beautiful in their simplicity. I find that the colours become a lot more pertinant when the scene is so simple.

    I like this less is less approach. I think I should give it a test drive for the res of the week.

    Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  6. Peggy Braswell replied:

    Grand topic + great post. xxpeggybraswelldesign.com

    Like

  7. Rosemary replied:

    The older I get, the more I move toward simplicity. Love these shots.

    Like

  8. Nikon replied:

    Amazing shots, Claudia, and a great job of compiling a “best of” collection.
    I love the shots of the “minimilist” apartments.
    Of course the shot of the dog is a winner, too!

    Like

  9. Mom replied:

    Just a little too “less” for me, Claude. But then, you know what I like. LOL Mom

    Like

  10. Paris Rendez-vous replied:

    Beautiful, beautiful images Claudia….less is more…..we need to keep remembering this in all aspects of life don’t you think? Love this post…c’est magnifique!

    Like

  11. Judy replied:

    Simply Gorgeous! I love them all!
    So happy your projects are nearing completion! What a great feeling :)
    xoxo
    Judy

    Like

  12. Paris Rendez-vous replied:

    Hi Claudia…Paris Rendez-vous again. Have you seen the images of Martyn Thompson in his new book “Interiors”?…..a perfect example of the less is more principle. Take a look…you won’t be disappointed.

    Like

  13. IsabelDS replied:

    Beautiful photos.
    Have a great day’

    Like

  14. raneytown replied:

    beautiful

    Like

  15. Milda replied:

    i love this. but where will all my chachki’s live? :-( Maybe they can have an apt all their own….

    Like

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

