it’s not always pretty

hi guys, happy tuesday.  i hope you had a good day and are about to have a great night!

strange but good timing around here. i’ve been working on the flea market stuff and when i googled jules valles, and discovered that the article  i wrote for the girls guide to paris has gone live. not sure how i missed that but it’s a publication i really admire so thank you to the editor, doni for the opportunity to write a flea market article for them.

it’s funny how looking back things can be so surreal. it was only a couple months ago but don’t think i would write the same article today. at the time i was determined to write the about the gritty, dark side of the market when she asked for the article. i wanted to expose the not so pretty part where you have to get dirty, dig and sleuth around. but in the end you always will uncover buried treasure. i wanted readers and passionate flea market excavators to know that over priced and polished fleas are the norm but that if you don’t mind using a little elbow grease, you can go a few streets over and shop on the DL. but it’s not a pristine scene and i don’t know what possessed me to send her these crazy pics.  girls guide is such a glamorous mag that of course after i sent in the shots and text and just of the brutal cacophony of this area, i  wanted to re-do it. make it pretty. but doni went ahead with it, god bless her! anyway here’s the article. if you like it say hi on the her and let her know you came by!

girls guide to paris.com/archives/paris-flea-markets-marche-aux-puces

this is something between a scrap yard and well, it’s pretty much a scrap yard of french things

this is a closeup of the above

there’a a lot of everything

she must have thought i was nuts! anyway i hope you enjoyed the back alley stroll~ have a great nuit!

girls guide to paris.com-paris-flea-markets-marche-aux-puces

January 18, 2012. Tags: . Antique Shopping, Clignancourt Flea Market, Clignancourt Market Paris, Fleamarkets, France, Paris Flea Markets.

19 Comments

  1. Nikon replied:

    Wow, talk about sensory overload!
    So many things to look at :)

    Like

  2. à la parisienne replied:

    I would rather dig through these French “cast offs” any day over visiting a nice market here…I see about five things just glancing throught these images that I would scream over! The chaud/froid faucet, the sconces, the paintings…
    Congrats on the article!

    Mandy

    Like

  3. Laura replied:

    This looks like heaven to me! It’s the trill of undiscovered treasure. I see

    several items I’d die for!

    Laura

    Like

  4. Debbie replied:

    WOW!!! This is the best back alley stroll I’ve ever taken…heavenly treasure!
    Congrats on the article Claudia…well deserved!!
    xx
    Debbie

    Like

  5. Kate replied:

    I love the “dirty” French flea markets. That is where I have made my best buys. A three thousand dollar mirror that cost less then 40 and paintings for less then the price of a movie ticket are found at the dirty fleas. These finds tho usually need cleaning and repair. This I find fun to do; getting to know the new friend object that is going to be in my home.

    Like

  6. Leaves you wanting more replied:

    I wish wish wish that I was there! These pictures makes me long for Paris and really good flea markets.

    With love from
    LYWM

    Like

  7. Rhonda replied:

    Digging around in the dirty boxes is what I love about flea markets. The real treasures are hidden, it’s when you get that “it was meant to be mine” feeling. Ah, I sure hope I get back there soon.

    Of course, your photos are fabulous and seriously make it all real again.

    Like

  8. Fran Saval replied:

    i have been following you for over a year now and have enjoyed every picture but i most of all love looking at back alley junk. this is my kind of trash! wish i was there…

    Like

  9. Yvonna Russell replied:

    This is my kind of flea market shopping. I wish you would write a book and cover other cities around the world especially NYC.

    Like

  10. Jean replied:

    Love the article. Anyone can write about the “pretty” flea markets, that’s been done. The back alleys are for the true devotee.

    Like

  11. fabulous finds studio replied:

    The dirtiest and not-so-pretty markets and antique/junk stores are where I usually get the best deals in my area! I love to shop at the pretty markets and antique shop for the atmosphere, though.
    Fabulous article!

    Like

  12. Teresa@ Splendid Sass replied:

    Turn me loose in here and see what happens. Need a truck or two to haul it. I love rummaging through junkyards.
    Hope that all is well. and that your father is doing well.
    Tereas
    xoxo

    Like

  13. This is Belgium replied:

    wow !! love this!

    Like

  14. joanne hegarty (@joannehegarty) replied:

    I could easily go home with a truck load and spend an entire day there rummaging around ! I’m following your blog . .. it would be lovely if you would do the same.

    http://www.balletpumpsandroses.com

    Like

  15. Bron replied:

    l think your pics were perfect to send…..I’m sure most of us can see the deals through the “dirt”.

    Like

  16. jenkiely replied:

    Wow!! What a fabulous place. Thanks for sharing – we went to a similar one last week in Horsham, Australia and it was obscene how excited we were.

    Like

  17. Jen replied:

    Wow!! What a fabulous place. Thanks for sharing – we went to a similar one last week in Horsham, Australia and it was obscene how excited we were.

    Like

  18. christine95037 replied:

    Would love to be at those fleas!!!
    Makes me sad to think of all the beautiful places that are no more, though.
    Pretty soon – the whole world will be ‘new’ and there’ll be no past. Just like the USA.

    Like

  19. Robert replied:

    I tried to find this area last May, but I don’t think I was in the right place. I’m returning to Paris in 9 days on May 17, 2013. Can you please tell me if your pictures in this article were from Rue Lecuyer? I made it that far last year, but didn’t look like your photos. I particularly would love to find the ‘garage’ looking location you shot where there were blue enamel house numbers inside.
    Thanks for any help.
    Robert

    Like

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

