angels with dirty faces

hi guys! i have about a minute. mom is keeping me uber busy and we’re about to head out. before she comes down i just wanted to say hi, post a little update and send some holiday cheer. dad’s a bit better, still not 100% but expected home by the 22nd. we’re busy baking and decorating when we’re not there and i’m still getting to enjoy all the old ornaments and traditions mom is determined to preserve.

these little angels are from the 40s. i used to have them on a tree in my room when i was a kid and always loved them. they’re little nylon wings, pipe cleaner arms and pretty little faces.

mom hangs them on the staircase now and it wasn’t till i shot these that i realized how each has her own true personality. maybe i did as a kid and forgot. anyway i love them more than ever and am happy to see their familiar, sleepy faces.

well i hope you’re having a great friday and are gearing up for a wonderful weekend. i’m heading to nyc for brunch tomorrow. oops mom’s calling, au revoir!

 

December 16, 2011. Holidays.

14 Comments

  1. Kate replied:

    I adore these little creatures!

    Like

  2. ParisienSalon replied:

    I love them! It seems like this did turn into a little blessing and that all this time with your family is bringing you only joy. Miss you here, though!

    Like

  3. Debbie Jacobs Designs replied:

    I almost cried when I saw your angels. I had those exact same ones on my tree when I was a little girl (back in the 50’s) They are now on a small tree with all our silver baby items, spoons, rattle, cups etc. I use my christening coat as the tree skirt. Yours look like they are holding up better than mine!
    They sure don’t make ornaments like these anymore!

    Like

  4. Barbara replied:

    Oh, how sweet they are! Thank you for bringing a smile to my face.
    xx

    Like

  5. à la parisienne replied:

    It sounds like you and your mother are having some special quality time together this holiday. Praying that your dad will fully recover and return home soon.

    Mandy

    Like

  6. Rhonda replied:

    Oh, Claudia, those are my favorite Christmas decorations! The spun cotton angels – I have collected them forever. Don’t ask how much I spent bidding against someone on Ebay for them. LOL It’s the principle, they were supposed to be mine. LOL

    I’m so happy you are home with your mom and that your dad is coming home soon. Peace be with you. xo Rhonda

    Like

  7. http:lapetitegallery.blogspot replied:

    I remember those, I used to have them. It is lots of fun unpacking the orniments. I almost forgot a few. Hope you all have a merry Christmas.

    yvonne

    Like

  8. Nikon replied:

    I’ve never seen any decorations quite like the ones you’ve shown!
    They do look beautiful.
    Have fun in NYC & I hope that everyting continues to go well.

    Like

  9. renee finberg replied:

    omg….someone is crying over angels????

    i am such an ass.
    i love your gorgeous angels.
    ….and now i am crying.

    xxx

    Like

  10. Vicki Archer replied:

    The angels are the sweetest Claudia… so happy all is calm…xv

    Like

  11. Karen replied:

    as sweet as could be -as if it will fly away!

    Karen

    Like

  12. Teresa @ Splendid Sass replied:

    Oh, Claudia, the angels are beautiful. Isn’t it wonderful to be reminded of Christmases during our childhood?
    I am so happy to learn that your father is doing better. Thing of you and your family.
    Teresa
    xoxo

    Like

  13. Merillion replied:

    Hi Claudia,

    Love those angels! And the ornaments you showed us in the other post that your Mother made are just beautiful. From a kit or not, it’s really how you do the job & they are lovely. I’m so glad your Dad is doing well. It’s tough to go through these things, but great when they turn out well.
    Sounds like you’re loving being home. No place like it, right?

    Marilyn

    Like

  14. Angie Forsberg Mahoney replied:

    Sweet sweet angels!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

