hanging with mom and dad

hi guys! how’s everything? i’m happy to report good things from here. sorry to be MIA for the past few days but i’ve been pretty focused on getting home and spending time with my parents. my dad is much better and is in rehab. he’s still on lockdown sleeping there so mom and i have been home in the mornings getting stuff together and doing a little decorating for the holidays to keep her sane and feeling normal.

it’s been a long time since i really looked at the decorations i’ve known by heart for so many years. i’m sure like yours each has a story and history. these velvety balls were each made by my grandmother many years ago. i remember watching her make them at the kitchen table between cooking enormous meals. she was so creative (ok they were from a kit but still), and she must have had lazer vision cause they’re made with such precision!

you know how they say we don’t know the reason things happen til much later? well i’m starting to see a some good coming out of this already. not the least of which is having come home way early for the holidays and not booking a ticket back. it’s giving me a chance to spend time with my family instead of rushing thru the season and popping in and out. this year i’m home, feeling a bit like a kid in my old room and glad to be of some help to my parents who have always been there for me.

well, we’re about to jet off one more thing: i’ve got a great little book for you to check out for the holidays,  called A Literary Paris.  it’s filled with all kinds of information about novels set in Paris and places to go when you’re there. it makes a fabulous gift for anyone who loves Paris, or  books, or traveling. the author, Jamie has given us a copy for a giveaway so if you’d like it, just let me know! here’s her facebook page to check out what’s inside.

last but certainly not least, the pink book winner from a couple posts ago has been corrected. it’s bron from vintageandart.blogspot.com. check out her blog where she had this pretty bergdorf goodman holiday window posted. more soon!

December 15, 2011. Holidays.

22 Comments

  1. Ivy Clad replied:

    I’m so glad your dad is doing better! Enjoy your time with your parents. That book looks fascinating!

    Keri

    Like

  2. ParisienSalon replied:

    Enjoy your time with your family!

    Like

  3. Michelle replied:

    So glad that your father is doing better, we just went through that scary situation with my Mother in Law. She too is doing better.
    Happy Holidays to you and your family!

    Like

  4. Paris Hotel Boutique replied:

    Miss C, so glad your dad is doing better. Very scary. Be well my friend and happy holidays!

    Like

  5. Tara replied:

    I’m fairly new to reading your blog (which I love) and just want to wish you and your family a Merry Christmas. I enjoy reading your posts and wish for your father a full recovery. This post with those ornaments is very nostalgic for me too. I have a lot of these from my grandma and they are so special and chic!

    Blessings,
    Tara

    Like

  6. marivic replied:

    Hope your father is better. I said a little prayer for you and your family.

    I love Paris and i think that Paris book is fabulous.

    Like

  7. lily replied:

    Have a wonderful time with your family !! LOVE the ornaments your grandmother made !

    xxLily
    goldandgray.com

    Like

  8. Teresa @ Splendid Sass replied:

    So happy that you are at home and with your family. Glad to learn that your father is doing well. I will have to change pictures on my post today.
    Have a happy day.
    Teresa
    xoxo

    Like

  9. Brandy replied:

    So glad to hear everything is going well. I pray for his speedy recovery, and Peace and Joy for you all this holiday season!

    Those ornaments are wonderful, and we have a few like that that my grand-aunt and great-grandmother made! I love them! Little treasures, aren’t they?!

    Best wises,
    B

    Like

  10. A Gift Wrapped Life replied:

    So happy you are home with your family and that your Dad is doing better. The festive decorations and your company will keep him in good spirits. Happy Holidays Claudia. XO

    Like

  11. Shelly Gregory replied:

    So happy that you are home with your mom, dad, and all your familiar childhood surroundings. We’ll all keep praying. And, I am happy for Bron winning. I just love her blog, and her! xo

    Like

  12. Nikon replied:

    I’m glad that things are going well at home for you, Claudia. I hope that your father continues to improve and that Mom’s stress eases.
    I love the great photos of the ornaments. I’m glad that you are in a holiday mood!
    Put me in the running for that book, OK?
    God bless & I hope that everything continues to be good for you and the family.

    Like

  13. Claire from French Furniture replied:

    Have a lovely Christmas. Im so glad your Dad is ok and your spending time with your family. You deserve a rest. Love the decorations they are just gorgeous.

    Like

  14. Jill replied:

    Thankful your father is doing well & that you and your mom are getting some time together. We had a scare this past weekend with my father-in-law. Thankfully, he is doing fine.
    Wishing you all very Merry Christmas!

    Like

  15. nancy replied:

    dear claudia…you still have both parents AND your old room !?! what a blessing at christmas to have the recovery in progress………..savor this time. since books about paris are as close as i can get right now….sure…..throw my name in there ! with admiration, nancy

    Like

  16. Kate's Bookshelf replied:

    I love hearing that your are decorating to just keep your mom sane. My grandmother isn’t able to do the decorating this year, and I’m not sure she can get my grandfather. I so want to take a train down to decorate her place up for her, but I’m unable. Sometimes even the simplest decorations make it seem like the holidays.

    Those ornaments remind me of crafts and things my great-grandmother’s did. Hidden among the many ornaments are little ones they made, and they always hold a special place in my heart.

    I’d love to be put down for the Paris book (i’m a fan of anything Parisian)

    Hope your father recovers soon.

    Merry Christmas!

    Like

  17. Mystica replied:

    So glad he is feeling better. Would love to be counted in for this book!

    Like

  18. Carole replied:

    Would love to see your father’s face when he walks into the winter wonderland you and your mother have created! The only thing better would be to hear you two swapping stories about Paris. Glad to hear he is doing better.

    The book is a fabulous gift idea. Looks like ALL of us would like it!

    Like

  19. Judi replied:

    Happy to read your Dad is doing better. It is a mixed blessing…you are able to spend undivided time with your parents. If you do not know, ask them about their childhood. I never had the time and mine were both gone by the time i was in my late 30’s.

    Like

  20. Kate replied:

    It’s nice to be home for the holidays! I’m sure your parents are thrilled. I work right near Alliance Francais in Chicago so it was funny to see the pictures. The book looks fab. I’m a big Colette fan.

    Like

  21. pamelajane replied:

    Those ornaments — wow! And the book about Paris in literary terms sounds like a good read!

    Like

  22. DENISE. replied:

    Wow, my family has the same type of ornaments! My great grandmother made them 40+ years ago. It was her hobby for as long as I knew her. We’ve got boxes of them. And everyone is always in awe of them. I’ve never seen them any place else. Maybe they took the same class :)

    Like

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

