a few favorite things

well a few hours in the right big white tube and you are suddenly en paris. the show is enormous, spectacular, innovative and inspiring. my first stops were to see old friends.  i adore the geniuses at koziel.fr who blur the line between real and trompe l’oeil.

others were getting in to the action this year, these had a bit of an edge: trompe l’oeil doors, some with grafiti via gdcreation.com

beautiful things were of course around every corner like these handmade comforters in silk satin from holland.

and my camera died at christopher guy but i’ll be back tomorrow, it was stunning.

anyway it’s not late but i went straight to the show from the plane. i think i was the first one in so i’m beyond tired. more a demain, bonne nuit from the streets!

January 21, 2011. Design Show, France, Maison et Objet, Paris.

24 Comments

  1. Cynthia replied:

    You forgot something…

    Me, in your suitcase!

    Lucky ducky woman you are, to be in the business of going to Paris and seeing all that you see. I wish I wish it were me, too! Maybe, maybe … until then, I will follow you.

    Like

  2. FAY HART FLORENCE ITALY replied:

    Hi I love visiting to get my Paris fix you have lovely things I did a posting on Dale Chihuly he s amazing isnt he . Ive awrded you the Stylish bloggers award Plaesae see my blogRule #1) Thank & link back to the person who awarded you.
    #2) Share 7 things about yourself.
    #3) Award 10 great bloggers that you recently discovered
    #4) Contact those bloggers and tell them about the award

    Fay xx

    Like

    • the paris apartment replied:

      oh wow, thank you so much! i will do this tomorrow! you know i have always despised chihuly but i actually like this chandelier!

      Like

  3. Splendid Sass replied:

    Have a wonderful time, Claudia. The images are beautiful.
    Teresa
    xoxo

    Like

  4. Laura Ingalls Gunn replied:

    I am currently living vicariously through you.

    Thank you for being so gracious and sharing your adventure!

    Like

  5. Tamra/The Gilded Barn replied:

    What is it about a stack of ticking that just says “aahhh”.

    Like

  6. Melissah replied:

    I just discovered your lovely blog. I’m just new into blogging & have just finished off my own blog on fashion & interior design.
    scrapbook-melissah.blogspot.com
    I had a lot of fun putting it together. I would love your feedback on it if you’ve got a spare minute.
    x
    Melissah

    Like

  7. Bonjourromance replied:

    Bonjour Claudia,
    Safe travels – if I had known you were coming I would have ordered up some better weather, it has turned cold again.
    Bon weekend,
    Mimi
    P.S. Where do you find all your energy?

    Like

    • the paris apartment replied:

      yeah, thanks a lot mimi! send some sunshine next time! i wish we could have had coffee but it was truly all biz this time.

      Like

  8. Beadboard UpCountry replied:

    I cannot believe you went straight from the airport…..OMG! Great shots of the trompe l’oeil, and I love that chandelier. I only got yelled at two times not to shoot pictures…. Get some sleep!Maryannexo

    Like

    • the paris apartment replied:

      yes, i’m a psycho when on a mission so it was straight to the show!
      i was stealth with my camera but every time i shot something i heard the announcement about it being forbidden to take photos, i felt like someone was watching me!

      Like

  9. renee finberg replied:

    you stinker!!!!
    i just did a post on christopher guy yesterday.
    i can’t wait to see you snaps.

    and the quilted fabric is genius.

    love xxxx

    Like

    • the paris apartment replied:

      just read your post…he was at the show, if i’d read your post earlier i’d have mentioned him going to palm beach, you’re so right, it’s so him!

      Like

  10. Acquired Objects replied:

    Ew, how exciting! Have a wonderful time in Paris!

    Like

  11. Jean replied:

    Oh, I’m so jealous! I have to go someday. Maybe next time? I love love love those quilted silk comforters. Want one! Have fun!

    Like

    • the paris apartment replied:

      yes you do! i know it’s hard for you with the kids cause the one show is in the fall, right when school starts (hard to believe anyone makes it) and the other is right after the holidays. both kind of random times but maybe we can do it this time next year?

      Like

  12. themorselblog replied:

    Oh Claudia! Just what I needed to be inspired. I particularly love the chaise lounge.

    Like

  13. Andi replied:

    Gooooorgeous!!!!

    Like

  14. Lissette replied:

    Amazing, amazing, amazing! So jealous that I couldn’t be there but so happy that you were and that you’ve shared your lovely photos. :)

    I adore that tufted wallcovering!

    Like

  15. Paris Apartments replied:

    I rented an apartment in Paris with Paristay, and I was happy with my stay. Do you have any other ideas or suggestions?

    Like

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

