the art of the unmade bed

did you have to make your bed growing up? my mom’s religious about it. we did it every day as kids.

fashioncookie.blogg.no

some say making the bed is powerful and gives you an instant feeling of accomplishment in the morning. i’ve always hated making the bed although i do love getting into a well made one. quel dilema.

fairytalesandglitter.tumblr.com

mayuri12.tumblr.com

contesdujouretdelanuit.tumblr.com

these are some shots i came across the other day when so many kept appearing, one after the other…it was a feast and i’m glad i saved them all but somewhere along the way the links got mixed up a little. they all came from from tumblr. if one’s yours and it’s not  in the right place, please let me know.

lune-bleue.tumblr.com

i love the way every bed’s the same and still so different

glowbalhouse.tumblr.com

hannahmarie-.tumblr.com

sabrinajali.tumblr.com

fime.tumblr.com

the same components

maximevnamen.tumblr.com

but each with an energy all its own

ihatenostalgia.tumblr.com

the bare minimum is such a luxury

likeabearinhibernation.tumblr.com

dreamandwake.tumblr.com

well anyway, i thought you may enjoy these too, all you unmade beds out there! happy friday and bon weekend! have a ball and when the time comes, dive into your sea of blankets. sweet dreams!

November 13, 2010. Bedrooms.

33 Comments

  1. Julienne replied:

    They are amazing shots…lots of nests, and you can almost still feel the warmth coming off some!

    Like

  2. Joy @ The Vintage Rabbit replied:

    Love the pics. Claudia……
    I am one that needs to make my bed everyday!!! I think you hit the nail on the head!!! The whole accomplishment thing!! it is so true!!

    I can still remember making my bed at the ripe old age of 4… I enjoyed it back then and I enjoy it now….funny…. I didn’t make my bed today!!! That rarely happens!!!
    Enjoy your weekend!!
    :)
    joy~

    Like

  3. Carey S. replied:

    why do these unmade beds look so warm and enticing and mine just looks like a big mess? i’ll have to look at my mess more carefully. maybe there’s beauty there after all!

    Like

  4. Gypsy Purple-Chamara replied:

    Never thought about the “feeling of accomplishment in the morning”….mmmm….

    Like

  5. Amy replied:

    I’m unmade! Oddly in more aspects than just my bed, now that I think about it…

    love the pink! I want a pink computer!

    Like

  6. Isabel ~ Maison Douce replied:

    I confess… I don’t make the bed, it just doesn’t bother me…!!! Oddly, when we were growing up my siblings and I were only expected to make our beds on the weekends!!!

    Like

  7. Michelle replied:

    I’ll take the one overlooking La Tour Eiffel, thanks! Somedays I make the bed so it looks especially beautiful, but most days I don’t. I think they look much more inviting when they’re unmade, saying, “Hey, come back and join me for a bit today, won’t you?”

    Like

    • theparisapartment replied:

      it’s amazing how that one is the least dressed and still inviting. as for the sentiment, well said!

      Like

  8. Vicki Archer replied:

    Love these Claudia….the messier the better! xv

    Like

  9. Tatieva art replied:

    Love, love ces images !
    Pour un moment de sérénité, bien au chaud dans son lit, avec un livre et les chats sur la couette…
    J’aime beaucoup la deuxième image, trés poétique et celle de l’appartement qui donne sur la Tour Eiffel et les toits de Paris !
    Et celles des chats, so cut !

    Like

  10. Tracie~My Petite Maison replied:

    I always make my bed but after seeing the photos, I may change things up just a bit.
    Bon Weekend too!

    Like

  11. Leigh Chandler replied:

    The French are the masters of making a bed look “made” but not made, you know what I mean? It is an art!

    Like

  12. Merissa replied:

    Beautiful. I wish my unmade bed looked so inviting! Mine just comes off messy :)

    Like

  13. Splendid Sass replied:

    There is something perfect about an unmade bed. A friend of mine had a great reason for not making her bed. She said that it was airing out if it was unmade, haha!
    These bed are lovely. I am about to get into mine.
    Have a great weekend.
    Teresa

    Like

  14. trendoffice replied:

    Great collection!

    Like

  15. à la parisienne replied:

    Although I am no neat freak, a messy bed makes me feel like my life is in shambles (I seem to have no problem with dishes in the sink or a few stacks of clutter here and there from time to time:)…but after seeing this post perhaps when my life gets really busy, I can look at my unmade bed like a still life-an art created by a good night’s rest!

    I hope you are doing well!
    Mandy

    Like

  16. Lancerika replied:

    Fabuleux post!
    an unmade bed can be a work of art,
    as can what caused them to be unmade in the first place…!

    Like

  17. Claudia replied:

    I am a bed maker, I confess. But, you are so right, there is something so wonderfully attractive about all these beds.

    xo
    Claudia

    Like

  18. Andrea replied:

    Yes, I’m a bit of a bedmaker myself, but i do find something enticing about an unmade bed. It kind of begs you to roll around on it….but then a made bed can make a room so much more finished. Quite the dilemma, to make or not to make.

    Like

  19. Cakewalk Style replied:

    Lovely photos. I’m sleepy now…

    Like

  20. chase replied:

    Cool! I’m actually doing a project on this for my artist friend Leah Poller, since June this year. We asked and still asking our friends, families, strangers and blog communities to send it a photo of their unmade beds to our tumblr or via email. Basically, we are trying to explore the bed’s symbolism to our lives in it’s instant and untampered state– just unmade.

    Like

  21. Elizabeth Maxson replied:

    Hi Claudia!

    Just scrolling around tonight – in an unmade bed and saw this post. I just had to attach a link to a photo of an unmade bed photo I took several months ago.

    http://elizabethhousestlouis.blogspot.com/2010/08/where-do-i-begin.html

    I love these pics you posted. Something so inviting about them. Thanks for sharing. Inspiring post as always. Where do you get the energy?

    Big hug
    Elizabeth

    Like

  22. CheapApartments replied:

    Cheap apartments

    awesome pics, i love the pink mac on the pink bed in the apartment

    Like

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

