an affair to remember

where do i begin? this may be my most picturesque post ever.  i have a million more photos but i’m cutting it off here so i can at least get to the matter at hand…the party at vignettes was a roaring good time that was beyond my wildest dreams. mere thanks would never cover what lori and her crew did to welcome and host me for what was truly a fairy tale.

walking into the store was like a dream! everyone in the collective is on the same wavelength and each area was decorated to the hilt with glorious french finds.

i guess i took so many photos cause it was a way to have a piece of this place forever. it’s one of the best resources i’ve ever come across either in the us or in paris. the prices, the selection, the sheer creativity in unique design, display and undeniable passion reinvigorated all my senses and sensibilities for all things french.

to be around such wonderful and expressive people was pure bliss. take a look at the spread, this was just the tip of the iceberg! there was champagne, strawberries and so much more!

but the real highlight was having the ladies and gents come from around town, l.a. and even as far phoenix. it was beyond flattering, it was awe inspiring.  some ladies had my book for years and to see it in their hand touched me more than i can say. thank you to everyone who came, i hope you keep in touch!

so if you weren’t there, i hope these photos inspire you to check out this one of a kind wonderland. if you live near san diego please go and say hello, you will not leave disappointed or empty handed.  if you’re looking for a one of a kind gift then this is one stop shopping for all tastes and ages, men and women. i plan to interview some of the designers and post their goodies so you can get more of an idea of the variety. these are not crafters, they’re artisans.

thank you thank you thank you to everyone and everything that went into making this one of the best days of my life and something treasure forever! i can’t wait to get back to san diego and play and in the meantime i’ll try to get to the individual posts about some of these creative souls. till then have a great week and more soon!

Vignettes

4828 Newport Ave
San Diego, CA 92107-3111
(619) 222-9244
Open Daily 10:30am-5pm

October 12, 2010. Antique Shopping, California, Vignettes.

43 Comments

  1. Bonjourromance replied:

    Bonjour Claudia!
    What a fabulous time you had. You looked beautiful!
    I think you don’t realize how many of us you have inspired with your design talent, and especially your incredible kindness to everyone!
    Bon semaine,
    Mimi
    P.S. I hope you had a taste of those petits-fours

    Like

  2. Melissa replied:

    C ~
    You look absolutely stunning (as usual) ~ a perfectly prepared fete for the exquisite guest of honor!

    Oh what I wouldn’t do for a box of those Eiffel Tower cookies…the crumb would go crazy! :)

    Bisous,
    Melissa

    Like

  3. Splendid Sass replied:

    I don’t know where to start! Absolutely gorgeous. I WANT the Christmas ornaments and the cocktail linens for starters. Oh amy goodness. So much shine, glitter, and goodies.
    Thank you for sharing these lovely photographs.
    Have a wonderful day in your new decor!
    Teresa

    Like

  4. Paris replied:

    What a delight!
    Merci!

    Like

  5. Fiona replied:

    I so wish i lived close by. I would be there today. Just gorgeous.Fiona

    Like

  6. Acquired Objects replied:

    Wow it all looks absolutely amazing, talk about eye candy! You looked fabulous too and so happy. Thank you for sharing your day.

    Like

  7. Fifi Flowers replied:

    Ooooh I wish I could’ve attended and met you while you were in So Cal… looks like a FABuLOUS shop!

    Like

    • kay ellen replied:

      Fifi you need to email and go down and meet the owner Lori~~she is a doll!!
      Your art would be a fabulous addition to the shop!!

      xo
      K

      Like

  8. Bonnie replied:

    WOW! The event looks like it was fabulous and the store looks amazing! What a treasure trove! I also wish I could have gone! Are you still in Cali?????
    Bonnie :)

    Like

  9. Allie Dillon replied:

    Between the sugar and the sweet chandeliers, I would have a very difficult time leaving this shop. Fantastic displays. Stellar photography. Beauty for the day. Thank you, Allie D.

    Like

  10. Lori @ Vignettes replied:

    Oh Dear Sweet Claudia –
    I think it had to be Vignettes proudest day in history & it’s all because of Y O U ! We all fell in love with YOU & your beautiful, UBER joie de vivre that is so catching that it’s like a perfect, bubbling champagne cocktail that you can’t get enough of! We all can’t stop talking about the day & amazing, lovable you & we’re all still on a contact high. You made us want to do more, be more, go more & always, always, smile more!
    Thank you for giving us YOU & an afternoon that is etched in our souls forever.
    You are my new BFF!
    Love,
    Lori

    Like

  11. M-T replied:

    What a fabulous time you did have. Each photo is a work of art that evokes a time, a place and a feeling.

    Beautiful!!

    Like

  12. à la parisienne replied:

    This place looks like a place that would make me cry from sheer joy! The entrance to their shop is even a tribute to the back cover of your first book! I love those bold vertical stripes! I will have to visit their shop someday!

    Like

  13. Susan Darnell replied:

    Oh!Oh! OH! Claudia!!!
    What an honor to have you come to Vignettes! We had sooo much fun!! Getting ready… coming up with ideas…
    and finally meeting you!!! You are very much a French bundle of Joy!!! I hope to go on one of your French shopping tours next. Oh COCO would be proud!
    xoxoxo
    Susan D. Vignettes

    Like

  14. Joy @ The Vintage Rabbit replied:

    Oh Claudia….How sweet it was to meet you in person!! Lori Gifted me your book years ago…and I was and am stilled inspired!!
    What a treat to chat with you!!
    You take amazing photos!!

    Would love to go to Paris on one of your tours!!
    Thank you for making your visit the “Icing on the Cake”!!!!
    Hope you enjoyed your stay and got to enjoy San Diego!!!
    Always Smiles,
    Joy~

    Like

  15. kay ellen replied:

    I loved chatting away with you sweet Claudia!! You are just as I had imagined! Very genuine and such a sweet heart :))
    Love all your photos!! Lori is an amazing person she has really brought Paris to Ocean Beach~~~ a beautiful place to dream…

    Hope you had fun in San Fran too:)

    xo
    Kay Ellen

    Like

  16. Robin @ My Melange replied:

    OMG. Do they rent beds in there because I. MUST. LIVE. THERE! That place is amazing. Thanks for sharing the lovely pics :)

    Like

  17. Sherry- Glamarella Junk replied:

    Hi Claudia…like I kept saying to you all day “You are So Nice” Love your positive energy & I’m so inspired by your creativity & Talent.It was a magical “Paris” experiance at Vignettes and you were the icing on the cake.
    Thank-you for all your sweetness. I wrote about you on my blog too. Can’t wait to see you again!
    xo Sherry- Glamarella Junk

    Like

  18. Karena replied:

    I could go on and on, and will visit the next time in San Diego!! Quite a find!

    xoxo
    Karena
    Art by Karena

    Like

  19. Robin replied:

    Claudia, It was so nice meeting you.I love the joy you put out there . Thankyou for helping us have the best day ever! I look forward to seeing you again,who knows maybe in Paris!
    Robin

    Like

  20. FrenchBlue replied:

    Hi Missy,
    I can’t even tell you how good it was to see you again. I wish wish wish I had more time with you. You brightened our day with your mOOnbeams and dewy dew drops… You glow! AND you made us all glow!
    Love you girl and miss you already~
    xx
    Janet

    Like

  21. Linda replied:

    All I can say is, Wow! I’d love to go there. What a treasure trove.

    Like

  22. Mademoiselle London replied:

    OMG! Chanel cupcakes! What else can you want in life? :)

    Like

  23. Judith replied:

    Hi Claudia!It was amazing to meet you on Saturday. You are so genuine and so sweet. A truly special day for me. We had a beautiful time and your sparkle and shine added to the magic of the day. What a perfect venue, it was spectacular!!! Michelle and I had a blast! Thank you!!!
    xoxo
    Judith~
    PS We headed over to Oktoberfest by te bach afterwards and kept on celebrating! LOL!

    Like

  24. Renée replied:

    This place really looks amazing!

    Like

  25. Vicki Archer replied:

    This looks like a truly sensational party…..such beautiful details everywhere. Glad you had fun and you looked totally divine……xv

    Like

  26. Leslie replied:

    Yum! Thank you! I’m still dreaming about your last blog. Now I can’t wait until my next trip to San Diego! You looked lovely!!!

    Like

  27. le petit cabinet de curiosites replied:

    every single inch looks fabulous . ANd YOU ARE GORGEOUS .
    Merci for sharing all these beauties with us . San diego is a wonderful city , I wish I could go back soon

    Like

  28. Renee replied:

    Loved everything! Thank you for letting me feel as though i was in Paris!

    Like

  29. lancerika replied:

    félicitations belle Claudia!
    all I can say is:
    “Vive la France!”
    un tableau fantastique de Trésors
    merci for sharing the beauty of it all!

    Like

  30. Sandra replied:

    Claudia,
    what a pleasure it was to meet you. you have such amazing energy and your smile is positively contagous!!! I would love to go to Paris with you someday…..XoXo

    Like

  31. Tuula M replied:

    This is such a gorgeous post! I think I want everything in these photos…simply beautiful, thanks for sharing!

    Like

  32. theparisapartment replied:

    thank you guys so much for your amazing comments and support. i love sharing the pretty parts of life with you!

    Like

  33. Sally Boado replied:

    I was so thrilled to meet you, finally. I have had your book for quite a long time now. Thank you so much for making US feel so special. Your sweet and kind friendliness was felt by all. Thank you for all the inspirations you give to all of us who love anything “french.” I hope I get to see you again! God’s best to you in your work and travels.

    Like

  34. yvonne replied:

    I want to thank you for this fabulous tour it was
    terrific. Wish I was closer I would be there every other day.

    yvonne

    Like

  35. Fiona Hogwood replied:

    I am in awe of all the exquisite items in your photos – when will there be a store in Scotland????
    We hire out vintage china for weddings + functions -thanks for the inspiration – I think I want to diversify & expand things a bit now!!

    Like

  36. Kim Martin replied:

    Claudia,

    I’ve said this to you before and I’ll say it again! My heart is pounding, my hands are shaking and I’m trying to think of an excuse to go see my daughter in L.A. so I can sneak off to San Diego. Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful day! The most beautiful collection I have ever seen. You’re the best!!!

    Like

  37. Melissa replied:

    I think I just died… Seeing photos like this makes me have insomnia thinking about the beauty and stories these pieces tell!!! Thanks for sharing and might have to add this place to my “flea tour”!!

    Like

  38. Fabulous Finds Gal replied:

    Dear Claudia,
    What a special treat it was to meet you and have you sign one of my favorite design books of all time. What a wonderful birthday for me this year!!! What a gorgeous post. Lori has such a knack for creating a such a spectacular store and special events that are breathtaking. Come back to Cali soon.
    xo,
    Christina

    Like

  39. Claire from French Furniture replied:

    Thanks for sharing such a wonderful day! It made my day here down in New Zealand

    Like

  40. Lauren replied:

    Claudia, this boutique is MAGICAL! The petite-fours! Total eye candy! Cheers to your friends, Lauren

    Like

  41. LimogesBoxCollector replied:

    What a great presentation and fun! Those Eiffel Tower cookies are fantastic!

    Like

  42. The Paris Affair » Michelle Dennis replied:

    an affair to remember an affair to remember. where do i begin? this may be my most picturesque post ever. i have a million more photos but i’m cutting it off here so i can at least get to the matter

    Like

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

