rooms avec views

photo from my lunch with martha who so generously treated me to Ladurée. she’s a doll and indulged me while trying to get a pitiful shot.  i need practice!

hi all.  i’ve been busy (it’s amazing how much you happily pack into a day here) but my mind is with you at home thinking about the oil spill that’s hit the coast. not to get political but i just want to put it out into the universe that we don’t need to ‘drill baby drill’ and risk more of our precious coastline and earth.

since i can’t do anything from here it’s back to our regularly scheduled decorating projet...i saw the apartment in person, it’s a dream come true. chevron floors, marble mantle, 7 street facing windows, high ceilings, moldings galore, an original food warmer, renovated kitchen and bath and location location location.

i realize i’m a bad photographer cause i didn’t really get a great shot of any one room but at least you can feast on some details.

we’re starting today as it’s a ‘trade only’ day at the bastille show. it’s almost 9am and i’m heading out to be the first in line since it’s right on my corner. i’ll take pics so more soon. have a bon jour!

May 5, 2010. Decorating, Ladurée, Paris, Paris Apartments, Paris Trip.

20 Comments

  1. Shane replied:

    How simply divine that you enjoyed a Laduree lunch!
    The apartment is superb and I adore the parquet floors, windows etc. It’s a wonderful blank canvas to work with. My thoughts are spilling over with ideas from quite opulant to understated and stylish. I would favour the latter and go overboard on exquisite french fabrics for cushions – oooh la la!
    The brocante at Bastille sounds great. My daughter posted me the March/April Campagne Decoration with the addresses for brocantes through France – I’m green with envy.
    Look forward to your next post.

    Like

    • theparisapartment replied:

      Hi Shane,
      How wonderful to get your note just before heading out!
      My client is leaning toward mixing rustic and traditional and wants to go more clean lines than frilly which I concur with. It will be a fun balance to strike. Thanks for coming along on the ride!
      I’ll have to get the issue of Campagne Decoration and check out their list of brocantes. I just got Aladin. Do you ever use it?
      There are so many markets it’s incredible. What a wonderland it is here!!
      xoc

      Like

  2. Julienne replied:

    What a wonderful place and what a dream job this is going to be. enjoy the brocante.

    Like

  3. YSLGuy replied:

    That apartment is amazing. Really a dream come true

    Like

  4. dustjacket attic replied:

    Oh it is just wonderful, I love the windows and doors…the whole place really so gorgeous.
    xxx

    Like

  5. kIm replied:

    Oh this is soooo fun! If I can not live my dream of decorating a home in France from top to bottom in real life I can do it thru you! Yea!
    I am so in love with your blog and pictures Thank you for doing this. I get so excited when I see a new posting from you and can not wait to devour it.
    How fun it must be to meet up with people you have “met” online. If you ever come to California I would be so happy to meet you! We have tons of room!
    Have a wonderful time shopping!
    Kim

    Like

  6. Jean replied:

    Wow! Gorgeous apartment. The details are beautiful. The moldings are magnficent.

    Like

  7. Cris replied:

    I am living vicariously through your trip, so thank you for posting and we really do appreciate all the details and as many posts as you can do!

    My hope was to get to Paris for my 40th birthday at the end of the year, but I think we are going to blow all that money and much much more on an IVF cycle instead. So again, thank you for posting about my alternate life. I love hearing and seeing all the cool things you do!

    Like

  8. sundaygirl24 replied:

    Oh Claudia! What a wonderful canvas for you to work on…
    I agree a hundred percent about the clean lines design, frills would MURDER it! The architectural details are magnificent, and don’t even get me started on that fire place.
    Only in Paris….
    Can’t wait to see how it goes, Thanks, as ever, for sharing your adventures with us.

    Your number one fan, big hugs, Sadie at Flea x

    Like

  9. Josette replied:

    That apartment has such great “Bones”. I can’t wait to see the finished product!

    Jo

    Like

  10. sundaygirl24 replied:

    Oh just remembered! Claudia, when are you off to Maison Objet??? xx

    Like

  11. Karina replied:

    Yes, I especially like your taste in folding chairs for the parlor. Is that Early Stadium Brocante? :) Geez, I’m dying here wishing I was there!!!! I can see a dynamite antique long french tufted sofa in the middle of that room and some amazing modern canvases and…..

    In my next life, I want to come back as you, but with straight hair. :)

    xoxoxo,

    Karina

    Like

  12. Terri replied:

    Don’t you need an assistant? No, seriously!!!

    ♥ your blog.

    Like

  13. Judith replied:

    Oh Claudia! That apartment is a dream! I am drooling over the Chevron flors and that moulding! Wow! Empty is loks amazing, I can’t imagine what it will be when you have left that special touch of glam on it! Good luck and thank you for the posts! They are dreamy :)
    xoxo
    Judith~

    Like

  14. Alva replied:

    I think this is my favourite post you’ve ever done! Love this place and simply cannot wait until its completed! Lovely darling, it will be absolutely lovely!!!

    Like

  15. {g} replied:

    stunned by the gorgeousness of this space and would like to move in immediately :)

    xo

    Like

  16. à la parisienne replied:

    Claudia,

    When I think of a Paris apartment, this is what I envision! So beautiful. I truly hope you have a new Paris Apartment book in the works!

    Mandy

    Like

  17. Leo Brunvoll replied:

    Wow that looks soo great!!!!
    :)

    Like

  18. Lauren Mangioni » Oh Paris. replied:

    […] All photos from Paris Apartment. […]

    Like

  19. {have a romantic weekend} « This is Glamorous This is Glamorous replied:

    […] designs for coach* silkscreen: qu’est-ce que tu fais dan la vie?* & speaking of french: a paris apartment* soon: this & this{as always, a few things you may have missed:}* beautiful details: hervé […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

