life’s little thrills

sunday’s are for strolling. the lincoln road antique market started up this week and i found out just in time to spend the last delicious hour there. it’s loaded with incredible vintage on every level. it’s only open half the year (when it’s not as hot). this half!

i was obsessed to get some tiny things for the boutique or to give as gifts and ended up with this little bounty which was just enough to feed my need. and all fit in a small bag!

flea markets are one of life’s simple pleasures and pure soul food for me. i love finding junque and restoring its sparkle. these were in a junk box.

and you know they smelled like vieux madame once the corks came out. a drop of bleach did the trick to lose the scent, thankfully.

once i got home i washed it all and shot them to list tonight. i’m trying to learn the blurred background technique and these were happy accidents. as someone who’d been downsizing, i haven’t been shopping much, let alone flea marketing. i was a little surprised at how thrilled these little gems made me and i’ll enjoy them while i have ’em!

well, it was a long, perfect day. just wanted to say hi and hope you’re having a great one too~xoc

December 14, 2009. Antique Shopping, Fleamarkets, Miami.

17 Comments

  1. a la parisienne replied:

    Claudia,

    I have loved small, vintage perfume bottles since childhood and people who know me always give me their aunt’s or grandma’s bottles…I just love what they represent-feminity.
    These bottles are especially unique and pretty. Oh, and your blurred background looks magnifique! It’s so gratifying to learn new skills, especially when you can share them with your blog friends.

    Like

  2. Trish replied:

    Hi Claudia. I’m always a bit relieved, after all the love for incredible, out of site expensive, gorgeous things, to find that the littlest things can make me happy. Little treasures…so sweet. XO Trish

    Like

  3. miss bliss replied:

    I love the fleur-de-lis container :)

    Like

  4. Ms. Jenn replied:

    Oh, if I don’t work next Sunday, I must go! What time does it run? I remember going a few times as a teenager when my sister lived on the beach, but I haven’t caught it since then.

    Like

  5. Gypsy Purple-Chamara replied:

    I also collect vintage perfume bottles …love it!!!

    Like

  6. rosaria replied:

    Funny how these little jewels bring back joyful moments.

    Like

  7. Karena replied:

    I adore unique perfume bottles!! Great find my dear!

    Like

  8. Chrisy replied:

    What beautiful finds! This is my kind of market – antiques and vintage stuff – well done – and now you can look forward to the next one! Take care…

    Like

  9. Berlin replied:

    Lovely pictures! And even lovelier petite treasures :)

    Like

  10. Amber W. replied:

    I love the perfume bottles, simply beautiful!

    Like

  11. walrus studio replied:

    I like the first one, quite nice!

    Like

  12. hauteworld replied:

    Beautiful finds… I love vintage bottles and the half-broken wax seal is such a lovely touch.

    P.S. Feel free to use any of the Paris pictures I took. Just keep in mind that the first and last image from the post (Concorde & Arc de Triomphe) weren’t shot by me. I found them online but couldn’t locate the source.

    Like

  13. Slices of Beauty replied:

    Simple delights, lovely!

    Like

  14. cityfarmer replied:

    okay … we need to continue our chats….I have vast amounts of these treasures …to my name and in sources!!!

    sending my good-ie box tomorrow

    Like

  15. Lisa Golightly replied:

    Soul food indeed. What lovelies, my heart skipped a beat seeing them, can only imagine yours in the discovery ! Wish I was there, oh well, more for you ! ;)

    xoxo

    Lisa

    Like

  16. kayellen replied:

    Pretty perfume bottles!

    Hope you are doing well:)

    Stopped by to catch up on your beautiful blog~~~and say Merry Christmas!

    I have a few perfume bottles that belonged to my Grandma.
    I wonder where I put them?
    Now that I saw your pics… I am going to hunt for them! lol

    Take Care,
    KayEllen

    Like

  17. Bonjour Romance replied:

    I love old vintage perfume bottles, but like you I’m not a fan of eau de vieux madame scent either – thanks for the bleach tip.
    Have a great week and enjoy the holidays!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

