i wouldn’t change a thing

D1365527

hello dear friends. it’s been a week of non stop moving, but where and for what? well a lot happens in a day, a minute even. my last post about the pup made me realize that everything in my life has got to change or else i’ll just keep getting more of the same results. SO with that in mind, i’ve been on a mission to move. to give a pet a real home. and maybe give one to myself too. these are shots of the view i want and am visualizing as my new abode.

i crave this view because it symbolizes everything to me. lately i’ve been focused on the state of the world, how much we’re dumping into the oceans, what life would be like if it were not the environment we have now, but hotter and more violent, with oceans we can’t swim in.

i try to keep this blog pretty and i’m sure you don’t want to hear about this, but right now i feel we’re in a national crisis and need to tell the white house that we can’t afford to set up new coal mines which will pollute our waters. please join me in contacting them about the new mines in west virgina that are destroying american communities that are begging to be allowed to go green.

to see more about what i’m obsessing over, visit me here.

if you’re feeling like no one is listening and the WH is unresponsive, contact the media. there are a hundred addresses here: http://www.fair.org/index.php?page=111

i promise to get back to puppies and paris soon! let’s just make sure they’re there forever! thank you for your help, if americans don’t help each other, who will?

M1349745

JD

youtube.com/watch?v=pfi3SSJPG9Y

November 5, 2009. Environment, Miami.

21 Comments

  1. Melissa replied:

    Claudia,
    You know this subject is VERY near and dear to my heart! It is what consumes my thoughts almost every moment of the day – we must make a change!
    ~Melissa

    Like

  2. pamela replied:

    Quite true.

    Like

  3. theparisapartment replied:

    hi guys, thank you. it feels good to let it out and know there are others who understand.

    Like

  4. Lisa Golightly replied:

    I forwarded Stopping at the Green Light to a friend in SF who is a green architect. I felt so bad, but just couldn’t ever bring myself to buy those horrid fluorescent things … purely on aesthetic grounds alone ( I mean how can anything that casts such an unflattering light be good ?) Guilty no longer. Thank you for the validation AND enlightenment ! You have a cheerleader !

    Like

  5. theparisapartment replied:

    i love you, thank you lisa!
    i couldn’t agree more about the aesthetics, if for nothing else, it’s a fight for beauty!

    Like

  6. aurorasuzette replied:

    Your comment about changing or you keep getting the same result really resonated with me. Am facing this reality in my own life. And I am so with you on going as green as you can!

    Like

  7. Nina replied:

    That’s wonderful to hear that you’re moving into what will be a home and perhaps a more positive space? It certainly is difficult to remain positive when so much around the world is going wrong (politically, environmentally, socially). I think it’s that people have forgotten that they have a voice, and that they hold a huge amount of power in that voice. It seems people have become apathetic. So I’m VERY glad to see you bringing it forward and reminding people to use their voices.

    Like

  8. theparisapartment replied:

    hi nina, you’re so right! it’s WE the people after all :)
    i think i hoped that the government is looking out for us but it’s not the case. as heartbreaking as it is, it means we need to look out for each other.

    Like

  9. Judith replied:

    HI Claudia,
    I wish you the very best of luck in finding both a home and a perfect little companion. I used to be one of those people who never really focused her attention of effort on being Green and the enviroment…and then I had my son and my world changed. Everything I thought changed and now I am beyond committed to leaving him and his children to come a beautiful, healthy world to live in. I realized what I really wanted to pass down to him and it wasn’t waste and pollution. I back you 1000% and applaud your stand and your voice!!!
    xoxo

    Judith~

    Like

    • theparisapartment replied:

      hi judith, i hate to admit it but it was kind of that way for me too…we’ve watched other generations handle it and see their mistakes. now it’s our turn at bat and what are we going to do with it? the kids deserve to be passed the same world we had, not one that’s hostile and hot and unrecognizable.

      Like

  10. Gypsy Purple-Chamara replied:

    This is a subject very near to my heart…I`m part of an environmental NGO here in South Africa and these topics are part of my daily doings…thanks for also sharing the message…

    Like

    • theparisapartment replied:

      hey charma, we sort of filter it here. not sure why except that we’re wrapped up in daily life and put our faith in elected officials to direct us. it’s not easy or pleasant to hear, see and be active about this but something is calling me so i’m going with it!

      Like

  11. Passementerie replied:

    I feel that not being American, it’s not my place to comment on the environmental situation there, but I do agree with you about the lightbulbs most passionately. They are dangerous, unattractive and create an unpleasant light. Big dissent over them in Ireland (I’m Irish) and they’re becoming an issue over here in the UK too…

    Like

    • theparisapartment replied:

      actually it IS your place to comment because you’re seeing it from the outside with a more rational perspective where here it’s easy to get emotional. i can’t imagine the frustration the world must have when they see our actions. THANK GOD they’re looking at the bulbs in the UK and Ireland. they should be recalled just like any product that’s harmful from toys to toothpaste. AND they’re UGLY! :)

      Like

  12. suzanne replied:

    Hi Claudia,
    There is so much that we all see no matter which country we live in.And as a whole governments seem to be pretty ineffectual at listening to what is right.
    If there is one positive about having to take things into our own hands its that as cliche as it may sound people power is a powerful thing.
    And you know when its all said and done when my time is up I want to be able to say I did what I could rather than why didnt I do something?
    While there are people asking the questions as we are there is hope.

    Like

  13. theparisapartment replied:

    hi suzanne, you’re right. it’s up to us, but finding a way to make a difference is not easy unless we show up in person it seems! i’ve never felt so ignored by an administration and it’s heartbreaking when you stand behind someone and they do the exact opposite of what was promised. (i’m specifically referring to mountain top removal). as you said, where there are questions, there’s hope.

    Like

  14. Noel replied:

    Claudia,

    This is such a touching post. You really made me think.. it’s so important where you live, what surrounds you and what makes you happy. I love the direction your going with living green, pure and most importantly more complete in all facets of life.

    xo Noel

    Like

  15. theparisapartment replied:

    hey noel, as a beach girl i know you know what it would mean to lose the oceans. i don’t want to be an alarmist but knowing how much we’re dumping and what’s floating now, we have to make a change asap so it’s there for our kids.

    Like

  16. maggie replied:

    I’m glad to find you writing about this!

    Like

  17. theparisapartment replied:

    thanks, maggie, i feel like it’s a downer in a way and that people don’t want to hear about it. but i had to let it out so i really appreciate you saying that!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

