it’s a pretty pretty world

6heathertohompson

heathersthompson.typepad.com

hi all~whew, have i been on a mission! don’t know what came over me, but i was in a zone that kept getting deeper and deeper to reveal an unexpected story. you can read about what happened here .

story_page3-1

suffice it to say, it started because apparently i love light bulbs. who knew? i’m giving in to the obsession and actually really loving them in these old plans. it was all so simple then.

story_plate2

i love them too cause they’re nice and warm. you can just put one on a dimmer and turn it on low if you have a chill. what an unsung legacy of invention and progress. thank you, thomas edison.

story_plate1

my obsession feels complete and i even have a conclusion to draw that feels really right.

bottom line: regular lightbulbs are good. compact fluorescent light bulbs are very bad. (that’s the condensed version but the most important take away for me).

i’m no scientist, but there are lots of them talking about this. these are my findings Stopping at the Green Light, and i had no opinion one way or the other when this started the other day: if you would come by it would mean the world to me. it’s not pretty or glamorous and i really could use your help spreading the word.

herbs_2

these are the herbs i used to make the light bulb in the last post. if you want to make a light bulb for yourself and post it to your blog, please let me know and i’ll link to you. thank you so much for indulging me on this, i couldn’t keep it to myself and thank god that you’re here!

October 16, 2009. Environment.

46 Comments

  1. Berlin replied:

    I enjoyed reading the link… THANK YOU. Well said.

    Like

  2. Vivi replied:

    Such lovely lightbulbs, indeed. but that chair?! I’d like to wear it to a ball.

    Like

  3. Chrisy replied:

    Yes it’s a questioning attitude that we have to cultivate isn’t it…it’s not cynicism…it’s wisdom…thanks for sharing….

    Like

  4. Nina replied:

    Hi Claudia,
    I’d like to post that photo on my blog, with a link to your work at Stopping at the Green Light. I’ve already been spreading the word, telling family and friends when I talk to them. I’d like to blog about it so that I can give them your link so they can read all the supporting evidence.

    Like

  5. Cynthia replied:

    Looooving that ultra feminine, cozy chair in photo #1.

    Like

  6. Kristeena Crabb replied:

    Wow! I was totally oblivious to all this before. Thanks for “enlightening” your readers and kudos to you on your new blog.

    Like

    • theparisapartment replied:

      me too…well now it’s out there and it’s up to us to revolt instead of being revolted!

      Like

  7. Heather S Thompson replied:

    wow. thanks for sharing this valuable information with us. im saddened and changed.

    Like

    • theparisapartment replied:

      change is good though, right? at least now we don’t have to fall in line and you should use whatever you like best, not have to do it cause it’s some unnecessary law!

      Like

  8. Vicki Archer replied:

    Bravo Claudia….xv

    Like

  9. Bonnie replied:

    Collecting antique light bulbs… (and old paper) I’ve never seen these “figural light bulbs” before but they are kinda cute!
    http://ephemera.typepad.com/ephemera/2007/12/bio-tim-tromp-i.html

    Are they going to stop making the regular “old” light bulbs completely? Will it be against the law to use the old ones?

    Wow.. check out this artist, Pieke Bergman! Click on the website, then Projects, then Light bulbs! Move the center piece down so you can see them all!~
    http://www.piekebergmans.com/

    I’m watching Pride and Prejudice… again, and they seem to get along quite well with candlelight. It looks pretty too.

    Like

  10. Bonnie replied:

    ps. Love the chair!

    Like

  11. Bonnie replied:

    I just found this …http://video.msn.com/video.aspx?mkt=en-au&brand=ninemsn&vid=fae7ce7c-d0ed-47bc-9f59-533a224a0134
    I think there is a second video after this one that is good two. Although it is a news article from Australia, the information is still important. I just realized, we can make a choice to use what ever light bulbs we choose in our homes, but what if one worked in a place where they insisted on using these new light bulbs? They are actually making people sick. Are they gonna give people cancer? They can cause skin rashes, migraines, etc. I’m a very fair skin redhead so the UVA rays in the new bulbs would be dangerous for me. It’s scarry.

    Like

    • theparisapartment replied:

      you always find the best stuff bonnie! i hate that the bulbs make you sick but i think you’re not alone. people who suffer from them are brushed off from what i’ve read. stick to your guns!

      Like

  12. Gypsy Purple-Chamara replied:

    I just LOVE these posts of yours!!!!!!

    Like

  13. le petit cabinet de curiosites replied:

    I love vintage light bulbs !!

    Like

    • theparisapartment replied:

      moi aussi, oui oui!

      “Is it a rebellion?” asked Louis XVI of the count who informed him of the fall of the Bastille.

      “No, sire,” came the reply. “It is a revolution.”

      Like

  14. Trish replied:

    Hi Claudia. Love that you’re doing this. My mad scientist usually sleeps ’till noon with his size 13s hanging over the edge of his bed, but I’ll have something for you later today. XO Trish

    Like

    • theparisapartment replied:

      thanks for going over there trish! i appreciate your input and you leaving your mark on the subject with your comment there!

      Like

  15. Tracey replied:

    Wow! I had no idea. My husband will be a hard sell because he thinks the swirly bulbs save him money but hey, I do all the shopping. So I will just quietly keep buying regular bulbs where we have them and hopefully they will still be around to replace the swirlies when they die.

    Like

    • theparisapartment replied:

      hi tracey, can you imagine that someone told us it’s green to take our working bulbs and get rid of them in landfills? the most dangerous part of all this (besides that they aren’t green at all) is the disposal or breakage. they become Hazardous Waste. you have to leave the room for 15 minutes or you and pets and kids could breathe vapors that have been linked to neurological damage and other dreadful stuff. unfortunately the packages don’t mention it and a lot of people won’t know. please ask your hubs to read up on it before switching, i think he’d be surprised.

      Like

  16. Dad replied:

    I don’t know where you found all the vintage light bulb images but they alone make it worth reading about this controversy. I’m looking forward to more like this. Of course, I admire all the research you’re putting into this, too.

    Like

    • theparisapartment replied:

      hey dad! i just search google images and always find something fab! thanks for your support :)

      Like

  17. FrenchBlue replied:

    What a good girl you are!! Our You make our world so pretty pretty my special one:)
    I want that book!
    xxo’s

    Like

  18. Leigh Chandler replied:

    Claudia, you never cease to amaze me! You are certainly the busiest, most prolific woman I know. I am completely blown away with your new blog and cause! Just a little something you did last week?? It’s more like a grad student thesis, for God’s sake! I am in awe. I would love to put a lightbulb and a link to your new website on my blog, do I cut and paste the herb that I like?

    Like

    • theparisapartment replied:

      LOL you are too funny leigh.thank you, i adore you too.
      i honestly was possessed with the research. i actually cried when in finished like it was all building up. it was the weirdest experience ever!

      Like

  19. Gerri Ward replied:

    OMG! I solely ADORE your blog, it’s FABULOUSLY CHARMING !!!:))
    xoxox,
    Gerri

    Like

  20. Judith replied:

    HI Claudia, You even make light bulbs look pretty! Those pics are fabulous! I love reading the new blog. THe scariest part to me is the fact that governments are now mandating that people use these terrible bulbs and banning the good ‘ol fashioned bulbs. Amazing and scary…what’s next!?! Causing more waste and hazard hardly seems smart or Green.
    xoxo
    Judith~

    Like

    • theparisapartment replied:

      you’re so right, judith. i will NEVER give up old bulbs and will figure out a way soon to get off the grid so no one can tell me what to do! worst though is that hundreds of millions are already out there and the accumulation of that much Mercury in the landfills and by product runoff from the factories is a time bomb. we have to boycott their sales!

      Like

  21. Di Overton replied:

    You’ve just reminded me how much I hate the look of these new low voltage bulbs :(

    Like

    • theparisapartment replied:

      hi di, what’s the story in england? have they tried to force them on everyone? are people looking into it?

      Like

  22. aimhigh12 replied:

    wow, this is totally a pretty world. amazing. Hey the chair is just perfect. Great blog. thanks for sharing! :)

    Amy

    Like

  23. annie g replied:

    THANK YOU! THANK YOU! THANK YOU!

    Like

  24. Trish replied:

    Hi Claudia…did you see my light bulb? I put it up on Trouvais yesterday. My son, the tinkerer, took out the spent filament of an old (harmless) light bulb. I’ve got it dangling from my lamp now, with a sprig of lavender, and white iceberg rose bud in it. So charming…save our bulbs! Trish

    Like

  25. Paris Hotel Boutique replied:

    Now I am loving vintage light bulbs and the great work you are doing! You inspire all of us. Yes! I would like an herb light bulb for my blog, k? xo Lynn

    Like

  26. joanny replied:

    Hello Claudia,
    I just started my blog and then been under the weather so have not posted since, so now getting caught up to my favorite blog(s) I’d would love to post that photo on my blog, and naturally a link to your work at Stopping at the Green Light. My blog is ‘new’ so not much traffic yet but never the less I would give however reads my blog your link so they can read all about it.
    Joanny
    the Dowser’s Daughter

    Like

  27. Reed replied:

    Hey there, You have done a fantastic job. I’ll certainly
    digg it and personally sughgest to my friends. I’m confident they’ll be benefited from this site.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

