i got a second shot

2bd2f388-7141-4fac-a641-9dcc9e3e6f311

0c1f085c-037c-4310-8b0d-af8142f99507

003d8ef2-9809-4f95-9b8a-54e2cd685a2f

5c3fef27-0831-444e-b383-f27a1fb980c1

8aa7a3a6-409f-461d-be24-6eb352ce46d8

95f71cd1-670c-45ec-8e51-9830914624b4

96ee4930-b149-4cdb-bdb3-078ff531f858

5c92c55c-d757-4b3b-aba9-a17f3513ae71

hi everybody! hope you’re having a relaxing evening at home as you surf the wonderful web. guess where ALL the above images came from including the top one? the domino website. (have you written to them yet to at least keep the website)? just asking cause i’m embarrassed to tell you how many hours i was on their site that first day. i collected over 300 pictures from there, one prettier than the next. but then i crashed last week and all my pics were gone…18,000 in total over the years! but thanks to my dear young dad he was able to retrieve them yesterday (remotely at that) and save the day! danke dad! (i vow to back up better =)

d0ff1fb8-fcb8-4647-8c70-400408dd5772

truth is i also had saved a bunch of things when i went to the conde nast website store to search for a contact name and was blown away by their collection too! who knows how many more hours were lost over there that day

cn00027365_extr

anyway the whole thing got me thinking about saving images. what am i waiting for? thank god for blogging. we can empty our folders and share them with each other. i bet you have tons of stuff too, right?

www.condenaststore.com

cn00027988_extr

anyway, if you have to have a reason to write conde nast about keeping the domino website up, this is about as good as it will get

cn00021223_extr

the site is loaded with history

cn00023368_extr

wonderful images of america, month by month

cn00151298_large

capsules of color and hope

cn00051474_large

and they’re suitable for framing…

in fact they sell the service.

cn00024480_extr

funny thing is that they really make great artwork

cn00106992_extr

and it just goes to show how deep decorating is in our culture, how much we enjoy it and always have

cn00078428_extr

(schiaparelli above)

so if you have some time go get lost

cn00076573_extr

i have to go now but wanted to share some that were saved in my files.

cn00052612_extr

but what’s the use in keeping them

cn00053315_extr

in a folder for some time in the future

cn00053304_extr

i’m gonna be unloading my archives, my files are stuffed. what about yours? do you love to save images for a rainy day? what are your plans for them?

cn00051813_extr

no one but an obsessed nut could go thru it all their stuff..

cn00052264_extr

domino is in a league with classics that conde nast has let come and go

cn00052088_extr

cn00051063_extr

cn00151401_extr1

cn00042964_extr

domino mag sure is part of a colorful past. at least now they’re collectors items, instant classics.

but if you still at least want the website don’t forget to write to them. i personally think it’s an important body of work that should be respected just like any of the magazines above. it’s a new era. maybe blogs are the new magazines and magazines are the new books! well then sites are the new encyclopedias! come on conde, don’t leave us hangin!

cn00103530_large

(i even found lucite hangers on their site. nuf said)? bon nuit!

Conde Nast contact info:

maurie_perl@condenast.com or

laura_miller@condenast.com

Corporate Communications
The Condé Nast Publications
4 Times Square
New York, NY 10036
212-286-2860

ps i just added a bunch of new chandeliers,

abby_04

some are made with natural crystals and semi precious stones. let me know what you think! (i know they’re cher, one day i want one…)

http://www.theparisapartment.com/boutique/index.php?p=113

crystals1

February 13, 2009. Uncategorized.

22 Comments

  1. Bonnie replied:

    Wow those are great photos! I’ve never seen them before which makes your site so wonderful! Always something new to see! I’m so glad your dad was able to rescue your photos from the deep abyss. Yea!
    ps. Finally I got first! lol :)

    Like

  2. Paul replied:

    What an incredible series of photos and art, Claudia!
    Congrats to Dad on saving the day for you.

    Like

  3. Di Overton replied:

    I think people really under estimate magazines. Some of them are true works of art and make great collectors items. It’s lovely to see that Conde Nast has put all this together for us all to enjoy.

    Like

  4. theparisapartment replied:

    thanks ladies, i will tell my dad you’re proud of him too:)
    and i totally agree with you di, to think we threw them out without a second thought. boy have times changed overnight!
    bonnie just sent me this:
    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=170300724681&ssPageName=ADME:B:EF:US:1123

    Like

  5. petunia replied:

    Fab collection of images, Claudia! I just love magazine covers.

    Like

  6. Denise Elizabeth replied:

    Hi Lovely blog and photo! Denise Elizabeth

    Like

  7. Vicki replied:

    Thanks for all the wonderful eye candy C….hope your have a wonderful heart day!!!

    Like

  8. petunia replied:

    Okay, Claudia. We need to have a little talk. It is so NOT fair that you added additional OMG gorgeous chandeliers to your boutique! I mean come on. My daydreams and night dreams of what I already saw before them have not even run dry yet. They are spectacular, indeed. I love Miss Jasmine.

    Like

  9. theparisapartment replied:

    merci mes amis! and petunia, i do hope to get one of them myself someday when i can afford one. maybe i can start planning out my colors. citrine and aquamarine sounds nice…

    Like

  10. YSLGuy replied:

    Beautiful pictures as always. I like to load all my photos to photobucket.com so in case of a computer crash I can access them on the net. Flickr is great as well.

    I still keep them on my computer for easy access as well though. Sorry about the crash, that must have been rough to deal with.

    Like

  11. theparisapartment replied:

    what a brilliant idea! i’m coming to visit you, guy!

    Like

  12. YSLGuy replied:

    I thought I’d post back here. I do love my iPhone. I have the first generation and it works perfectly. Of course having all the fun applications to download makes it more fun.

    Like

  13. theparisapartment replied:

    hmmm i love the pictures they take.

    Like

  14. Kelli replied:

    So glad to hear you were able to save your photos!! I am browsing Domino again, where do you find all the vintage/old shots?
    Happy Valentine’s Day!

    Like

  15. zelda replied:

    they were so much artistic at that time than today . those illustrations are pc of art !

    Like

  16. fromtherightbank replied:

    I’ve been busy downloading pics too and I see we have many of the same ones(!) I love those vintage covers – what a great find!

    Like

  17. Melissa Lewis - Off The Wall replied:

    These images are positively gorgeous. I would love to have each one of these frames on hung along my wall. Love the color and drawings on each one! Thanks for sharing your folder with us:)

    Like

  18. Christine replied:

    Oooh, la la. Again with the white peacocks! I loooove them – they are so elegant! Was on the net a few days ago, after I saw them on another of your blogs, looking for prints.
    Too much inspiration and not enough time!

    Thanks, Claudia!

    Like

  19. Jen replied:

    It’s great to see that someone is as obsessed with magazines as I am! I’ve been collecting magazines since I was 12 and I’ve always thought of them as works of art. Funny post about Domino Mag. I haven’t written to them but bought the March edition yesterday. Not sure if that’s their last?

    Like

  20. Caouette replied:

    I was cruising thru Blogs and I came across yours. Its funny-I have some vintage framed Vogue art. My nighbor gave me a set of 2 lithographs when he moved out. I have no idea what to do with them as right now I live in a small cottage with no room to hang anymore framed art. EBay maybe? Seems like a waste as I have a feeling they would be treasured by someone who truly loves this art.

    Like

  21. My Little Corner of the World » Blog Archive » Yes, please. replied:

    […] {Domino mag via The Paris Apartment} […]

    Like

  22. Ami @ Elizabeth Anne Designs replied:

    that staircase is my DREAM staircase. i heart books and i heart “organized clutter”.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

