something to believe in

athenabreakfast1

this photo is from athena says, one of a hundred great blogs i discovered while searching for domino images the other day. above is her own breakfast that was inspired by simply breakfasts. her pretty home was chosen as a winner in one of their readers’ contests. (below)

domnioathena

good morning monday! hi guys, hope you’re raring to go after a weekend of kicking back.

if you were reading this weekend you probably know that our passion to fight for domino magazine (at least online), has been building steam. funny cause i was never really super that into the mag, just liked its fun spirit. but its effects can’t be denied. petunia shares my newfound fanaticism for it and drafted an eloquent letter that spoke to me and if it does you too, print and send it to them or craft your own. next step i guess would be picketing but i don’t think i’ll brave ny for that this month. so thanks petunia, i couldn’t have said it better myself:

Corporate Communications
The Condé Nast Publications
4 Times Square
New York, NY 10036
212-286-2860

To Whom It May Conern:

I am heartbroken that you have chosen to stop the publication of Domino magazine. I am one of many of your readers on line and in the subscription world who feel that way. We all know and feel the results of an economy that has taken a drastic downward turn. We understand the position it puts you in with your advertisers. I would like to tell you a different story, one many of your readers will agree is their story, too. It is the story of how Domino made a real difference in the lives of real people not only in the Untied States but across many continents. If you don’t believe me, enter Domino’s name into any search engine of any blog host and you will see what I am talking about. You will see our tributes to your lovely glossy.

What Domino has done and should continue to do is to tell and show regular people, who make up the majority of our country and the world, how to make their lives beautiful and esthetically pleasing without breaking their bank. It is pages of the attainable. It is pages of escape in a world where escapism is highly in demand. I personally have never known anyone who turned to the pages of your Vogue magazine to figure out what to wear to their next party. We can’t afford that dress. We can’t afford that lovely watch with all the diamonds you advertise. We read Vogue to see how the other half lives. Today, we don’t really care how they live. We don’t have that kind of time or daydreaming energy. We are trying to keep it all together. That being said, it doesn’t mean we don’t have disposable dollars to decorate our lives with. In hard economical times women will always find a way to stretch the budget to afford the latest shade of lipstick, a new pair of shoes and to decorate. We find treasures in alleys. We find treasures at flea markets and garage sales. We find treasures where ever we are. Domino showed us what we could do with them. Domino showed us what to look for when we were out on the hunt. Domino showed us that no matter how much money we had or didn’t have we could still live with beauty around us. It is hard for me to believe that a magazine that showed us how to save money would fold at a time we all really need to know how to save money and where the best design deals are.

I know you have laid off much of your staff. I know you won’t print the magazine again. What you do have is a fabulous website that could become a money making venture for you. You didn’t charge enough for your magazine. What you don’t understand is that we would have paid more for it. You forgot to ask or didn’t believe enough in Domino it to ask us to do that. You have at least 800,000 subscribers. Don’t let that source of income go. Make your website a monthly or annual subscription site and we will all show up! Your overhead would be almost nonexistent. You have the IT people in place and if you charge us $4.99 per month you have an annual operating budget of $4,704,0000.

You could even charge more and we will pay if you continue to deliver the quality we have come to know, love and cherish. Your advertisers would no longer have to off set the cost of publishing.

I am really struggling with what your reasoning could be to keep magazines in circulation that truly do not represent where the majority of us are or will be anytime in the near future. I realize that there is a small majority that can afford what those magazines have to offer but I will venture to guess that the longer we feel the ever tightening strangle hold of an economy out of control, even those who have the ability to attain what those magazines have to offer will not be exercising their buying power and your advertisers will pull back.

Domino is still a viable entity and can continue to provide a revenue stream for Conde Nast. Please don’t forget who you created the magazine for. We are telling you we will still pay for what you have to offer if you will continue to give us what we want through your website.

Sincerely,

this is the only place i’ve found to email them so far:
http://www.condenaststore.com/SupportHome.aspx

February 2, 2009. Uncategorized.

14 Comments

  1. angela replied:

    I could not have said it any better…well put.

    Like

  2. Di Overton replied:

    The shame is that they rely on ads to keep the website going also and in this economic climate companies cut their advertising straight away.
    I was featured as an International Blogger on Domino and got lots of new readers via that. A sad, sad loss and I think the same is going to happen here in the UK pretty soon.

    Like

  3. Kelli replied:

    I love the 1st picture of breakfast! It is my favorite meal of the day! I am going to take this well written letter, add a bit to it and mail it off.

    Like

  4. robinlocker replied:

    great letter. i’ll be printing and sending….and praying :)

    Like

  5. theparisapartment replied:

    oh good, ok well me too then, i happen to have a stamp on hand!

    Like

  6. Joy replied:

    A very elegantly written letter! Since most advertising dollars are now headed for the web, (for less $) they should be able to make a go of it I say!

    Joy

    Like

  7. petunia replied:

    Thank you for posting this, Claudia! Glad you liked the letter. I’m worried that people actually have to mail it snail mail style. There isn’t an e-mail addres we could link people to?

    Like

  8. theparisapartment replied:

    hey p
    this is the only place i’ve found to email them so far:
    http://www.condenaststore.com/SupportHome.aspx

    Like

  9. CherryTreeLane replied:

    Great letter.

    Like

  10. Fine Bessot replied:

    Hello Claudia, je vis dans le sud de la France après avoir passé 30 ans à Paris (pour des raisons familiales, je m’occupe de ma mère très agée). Je me suis réfugiée dans l’écriture de roman policier, la peinture de tableaux les collages et la broderie pour satisfaire ma soif de création. Et puis la découverte incessante de blogs sur mon ordinateur, dont le votre que j’aime tout particulièrement. Toutes ces découvertes m’inspirent. Je voulais vous le dire. Merci. Avec toute mon amitié. Fine.

    Hello Claudia, I lived in the South of France having lived 30 years in Paris (for family reasons, I take charge of my very old mother). I took refuge with the writing of police novel, the paintings, collages and embroidery to satisfy my thirst of creation. And then the ceaseless discovery of blogs on my computer, of which your that I like quite particularly. All these discoveries inspire me. I wanted to say it to you. Thank you. With all my friendship.

    This is a translation

    Like

  11. Christine replied:

    I left my comment to Domino on their Order Support problems area. I wrote that my problem was ‘other’ and sent and e-mail.
    I have been subscribing to Domino since the beginning and love their editions and have found great ideas in the mag.
    Good luck to them – and us!

    Like

  12. theparisapartment replied:

    bonjour fine, et merci!
    hey christine, i found this address, i sent an email there today.

    Conde Nast Publications
    Maurie Perl, 212-286-5893
    Senior Vice President and Chief Communications Officer
    maurie_perl@condenast.com

    Like

  13. Charlie replied:

    My Darling friend, I think I can say with absolute certainty that you and Paris Apartment readers L-U-V DOMINO Magazine! Please don’t hate me, but….I…have…never…read..it..yikes! There it is. (Unfortunately, they don’t sell it here.) But with all of you on my mind and in my heart I will shoot off a letter and email and join you all on your quest. How can such a popular and well loved magazine like this not be saved from the axe and other trashy mags are fine? I am now desperate get my hands on this treasure. I have asked my daughter to send me as many issues as she can get her hands on.

    Sorry it took me so long to catch on to something so good.

    Like

  14. Y. replied:

    Hi Claudia,

    I just wanted to say, I agree that Domino is an awesome magazine. I’m not a professional designer or decorator, but it was always interesting to read and the photos were fantastic. I hope that the letters and emails will be successful in salvaging the website edition. I would be willing to subscribe for a fee if they continue to offer the same quality content.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

