channeling helena

katie11

quel bombshell! i’ve always loved katie holmes and it’s great to see her front and center again.

especially when she’s sitting on the helena rubenstein chair!

katie21

nytimes.com

or doing anything, really. she’s the epitome of glam in these shots. they were done for the ny times by Solve Sundsbo who really captures an era that’s hard to replicate, but they nailed it.

it’s a supporting role but to see her on this chair is a thrill! she’s perched on the original from alan moss’ showroom in nyc, one of my favorite resources with one of the most comprehensive collection of delicious objets and furniture you will ever covet!

ximg_0384

almos1

Single Lucite Chair Commissioned for Helena Rubenstein
United States
1930s
Single lucite chair with etched rose motif. Commissioned for Helena Rubenstein by Ladislas Medgyes the orignal set of eight chairs were made by Roman Haas who made the first lucite furniture. Documented in the book “Over the Top” by Suzanne Slesin.

the paris apartment collection

helena rubenstein chair

(if you have a store and would carry them or want one for yourself, let me know)

ok, i’m off to art basel, it’s my first time! have a wonderful wintery night!

December 4, 2008. 1920's, 1930's, art, Celebs, Decorating, Design, Fashion, Films, Furniture, Helena Rubenstein, Products, Projects.

19 Comments

  1. Kelli replied:

    Love the chair and can’t believe that is Katie! She looks so glamorous! I love the shots of her upclose as well. Classic makeup, perfect skin and fun 30’s hair!

    Like

  2. theparisapartment replied:

    i wouldn’t have thought she was such a natural diva!

    Like

  3. renee finberg replied:

    WHOA !!!

    katie sure cleans up well. LOL

    i grew in miami beach on palm island,
    which reminds me once again that Lucite is fabulous.

    i remember it popping up in the sharpest homes on the islands.

    i myself have always used it in design and never really lost my affection for it.

    congratz on your new biz.
    it really is about time someone put timeless Lucite in production

    i have you on my blog roll and read you everyday.
    xx

    Like

  4. Judith replied:

    Oh! I love it! I swear that’s my favorite era. I have never been a huge Ketie fan but she looks marvelous in these pics. Just beautiful, I did, however, notice the chair before the person! I have issues! It is delicious! I want one for myself, no, I NEED one for myself. I’m off to start saving my pennies! Beautiful post Claudia and even more beautiful line of products!
    Best wishes,
    Judith~

    Like

  5. Prêt à Porter P replied:

    wow!! i didnt recognize her at all.
    stunning pictures

    Like

  6. Bonnie replied:

    Magnificent! I love the chairs! But we know your lucite chairs are the best! ;)

    At first I thought those were classic old photos from Hollywood’s Golden Era and was surprised to see it was Katie! Her dresses are so glamorous too!

    Gotta check out the websites now! You always post such wonderful things! Thanks Claudia!

    Bonnie :)

    Like

  7. Joy replied:

    I was really surprised too to see that this was Katie Holmes. I could use that team of professionals over here right about now! lol
    Joy
    xo

    Like

  8. the paris apartment replied:

    thanks for the kudos on the chair. i haven’t ever seen it rocked so hard. she’s got a great back! guess katie’s turned out to be a real star, timeless and classic!

    Like

  9. Passementerie replied:

    I can’t believe that’s Katie Holmes!

    That chair is stunning…

    Like

  10. Heather van Breda replied:

    Those photographs, and that chair! Stunning. Absolutely beautiful! This is the first time I’ve come across your blog and I can tell for sure, I’m going to be a regular!

    Like

  11. Paul replied:

    I’m a big fan of Katie Holmes, too. And you’re right the photographer really nailed it! What incredible tones!

    Like

  12. Carla Coulson replied:

    katie holmes has never looked better. Gorgeous post. Carla

    Like

  13. Melina replied:

    What stunning photos of her and the chair is simply amazing!

    Like

  14. Cindy at Rosehaven Cottage replied:

    I had to do a double-take because these photos are so well done I found it hard to believe they were vintage! WOW! That’s really, really cool that the chair is featured in one. It’s a perfect fit!

    Like

  15. Scheharazade replied:

    Modern and elegant !^-^

    bisous

    Like

  16. where there’s smoke there’s mirrors « the paris apartment replied:

    […] katie […]

    Like

  17. Boyfriend jackets replied:

    Thanks for the something totally new you have uncovered in
    your blog post. One thing I want to reply to is that
    FSBO associations are built after a while. By
    presenting yourself to owners the first saturday their FSBO
    is usually announced, before the masses begin calling on Thursday, you produce a good association.
    By mailing them methods, educational supplies, free reports, and
    forms, you become the ally. If you take a personal interest
    in them as well as their problem, you create
    a solid relationship that, many times, pays off once the owners opt with an agent they know plus trust — preferably you actually.

    Like

  18. powerpoint template jeopardy replied:

    Thanks for your write-up on this blog site. From my own experience, periodically softening way up a photograph may possibly provide the photo shooter with a little bit
    of an inventive flare. More often than not however, this
    soft cloud isn’t precisely what you had as the primary goal and can usually spoil a normally good photo, especially if you thinking about enlarging that.

    Like

  19. where there’s smoke there’s mirrors – The Paris Apartment replied:

    […] katie and helena hi mom! […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

