and then it happened

i admit it’s been a charmed life down here but truth is i’m a realist and know that eventually the same stuff happens to all of us. still i never really believed someone would knock on my door this morning and tell me the house i’m renting has been foreclosed on…and i have to get out toute de suite with 5 days till Paree! Honestly it was a few hours ago so i’ve had time to think about it and thank god i have options and friends. but what about everyone who doesn’t? has anything happened to you or friends of yours? quel nightmare!

October 14, 2008. Living, Miami, Real Estate.

22 Comments

  1. Tracy replied:

    I’m in as much shock as you, well no not as much as you, it’s not me, but I thought “Oh haven’t read her Blog in awhile” But my heart is pounding right there with yours, know that I’m really sad for you and I’m sending my friendship to you and your BETTER place. Remember something much bigger is in store, cause we can’t move without change. Try to soak up from those who care about you right now, they will get you in that BETTER place. Trac…

    Like

  2. theparisapartment replied:

    wow you’re an angel, thanks tracy. i do believe it will be even better, whatever happens.

    Like

  3. My Pink & Cream Cottage replied:

    Hi Claudia,
    Have just found you & cannot get over what a great blog you have, well apart from you last posting, so sorry you have to leave your home, do they really only give you 5 days to get out? I have friends who lost their home, they had a business which went bust which meant they could not afford the payments on their home so the bank took it from them. To top it off they have 4 kids! Anyway am sure you will find another beautiful home & I am looking forward to returning to your blog.
    Hope you have a great day(well try to)

    Lyn xoxoxo

    Like

  4. Kelli replied:

    Oh C,
    I am so very sorry to hear about this! I checked your blog for my daily dose just 2 hours ago and this news was not yet posted. I am thinking of you and sending my best wishes for your situation! I have many friends who have lost their homes to the banks and it is always a very sad thing to see.
    Who knows, maybe this is the big push for you to move {semi}permanently to Paris!!! I am a huge fan and can certainly see you being happy in gaie Paris!
    Bisous,
    K

    Like

  5. Vicki replied:

    So sorry to hear of the foreclosure….wish I was closer so I could help you. I firmly believe every thing happens for a reason. Thinking of you C!!!! You are an amazing woman and will get through this before fabulous Paris!!!

    Like

  6. betsy replied:

    It’s one thing when you are the home owner and know the morgage isn’t getting paid and quite another when you are the renter, paying your rent and the morgage isn’t getting paid. It’s so unfair along with so many other things happening right now. I’m very sorry this has come to your front door. As many have already said, something good will come out of this. No matter what happens, it sounds as if it was a great place to land while the next steps of your journey were being prepared for you. Good thing Paris is right around the corner. You can’t control anything from that far away and letting go is always a huge relief. Maybe from across the Pond all things will look better!

    Like

  7. theparisapartment replied:

    tres true! well thank god for friends, liz wants me to move in there. it’s easy cause we’ve been roomies for years!

    Like

  8. Judith replied:

    HI Claudia,
    I was so excited to get your lovely comment today…& thank you so much for adding me to your blogroll, you made my day! Then, I checked your site as I do everyday, & I saw this post :( I am holding good thoughts for you and wish you all of the best. I wish I could help out in some way. If only I wasn’t so far :(
    Judith

    Like

  9. Linda Merrill from ::Surroundings:: replied:

    Best of luck to you Claudia – how terrible. But you seem to have it in perspective.

    Like

  10. theparisapartment replied:

    thanks guys. i have to take it as a sign cause i’m leaving in a few days and it’s sort of out of my hands…

    Like

  11. villa anna replied:

    Wow can one ever see this coming? The economic crisis right on your doorstep. I’m sorry you have to go through this stress C. What a pain! Thank God you weren’t fully settled in. A trip to Paris couldn’t come at a better time really. Perhaps it’s a sign a more permanent move to the city of lights is Imminent?

    Anna ;)

    Like

  12. betsy replied:

    There is nothing like the love of a girlfriend! Good job, Liz! We all thank you.

    Like

  13. clarice replied:

    Oh I am soo sorry, I hope you find something soon. We have been on pins and needles for weeks trying to refinances to help with debt. We finally were able to sign last night. Thank goodness. Clarice

    Like

  14. Annechovie replied:

    So sorry this happened to you – talk about being left hanging! I can relate a little – the house I was renting sold and I had to get out, but not in 5 days! Hope everything works out for the best and have a fantastic time in Paris!

    Like

  15. K.A. replied:

    I love your blog! It’s among my top 5 of the millions of decor blogs to which I subscribe. I’m sorry this economic flux is shaking you out of your home through no fault of your own! You know what the best way to escape and relieve stress is though? Pretty apartment pictures, of course! :)

    Like

  16. theparisapartment replied:

    well luckily my guy is a pittbull and knows all the right people! turns out the house has been sold already and i may actually have some time. otherwise it’s going to interrupt my trip to paree :(

    Like

  17. Nancy replied:

    Hello Claudia,
    I hope this makes you feel better.
    I haven’t seen your mention of this site so I hope you enjoy with anticipation of your upcoming trip to the city we love.
    styleandthecity.com
    Best Wishes!
    Nancy

    Like

  18. Di Overton replied:

    You sound so calm about it. I always thinks these things are meant to be – something even better will come along

    Like

  19. le petit cabinet de curiosites replied:

    I’m very very sorry about it .I think this trip to Paris comes on the perfect time ! I ‘m sure something better will come

    Like

  20. theparisapartment replied:

    i’m actually starting to tweak about it a little. i loved having a place of my own, every little thing just so even tho i don’t have much. and bunking with a friend is fun but, well, it’s not my house!

    Like

  21. the bridal wishlist replied:

    claudia, i am sorry to hear this. i agree with the others comments that it is just a sign of better things to come.

    Like

  22. soniaroselli replied:

    OMG!!!!! C!!!!!

    My heart aches for you. I have been busy with the boutique but I came here on my day off to see whatcha have been up to!

    I heard on NPR the other day that this is becoming more and more common! I can’t believe you have to be out!!!!!!

    Well, maybe you should just STAY in Paris? :)
    If you do, let me know and I will come open a beauty boutique there with ya!

    Hope you are having a divine time despite the shitty news back home
    xoxox
    Sonia

    Like

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

