the end of the world as we knew it

of course last night was filled with silly debauchery (the absolute cherry on top was liz’s break dance routine)!

but this morning left us feeling like we could be facing the next 7 months to a year in tumoil:

beginning in about 10 days all the above will commence, closing down our little street, from the corner to the two blocks away where we can launch the canoe. what could cost 2.7 million dollars to do on our corner for such a long time? neither of us wants to live in a construction zone, it’s one of the reasons both of us left nyc. but to take on the town to battle this invasion? now that’s a full time job. but it’s either try to stop it or give up our new homes and quality of life.

August 7, 2008. Florida, Friends.

10 Comments

  1. corine replied:

    yikes. i hope not!

    Like

  2. City Girl replied:

    Oh no — that’s terrible. It’s so terrible it’s actually making me delurk to say hello :(

    I have been reading your blog for a long time (ever since I used to write a beauty blog called beautymusings.blogspot.com). Inspired by other bloggers, including you, I have decided to expand my blog, so City Girl Lifestyle was born.

    I lived in Jersey City for 18 months and what pushed me over the edge to move back to Brooklyn was the fact I was living next to THREE giant construction sites.

    I am SO sorry :(

    Like

  3. My Mélange replied:

    Oh, no, say it ain’t so!!!!

    That is one tough pill to swallow Claudia. I feel your pain.

    Like

  4. Joy replied:

    Oh my. Quel domage. Let’s hope the next 7 months fly by?….

    Like

  5. theparisapartment replied:

    mmmm…looking for the silver lining, guess just be happy today is perfect!

    Like

  6. Charlie replied:

    Claudia, I just got back home (from that place I hate) and read your post! I am so sad! I say fight! I cannot believe this, just when you start to feel settled and content! So sorry..really! Hugs

    Like

  7. stljoie replied:

    Oh Gosh. What a shame. Here in St. Louis they Have Closed hwy 64/40 for several years to enlarge it. it is a nightmare.

    Like

  8. theparisapartment replied:

    Tomorrow I’m going to meet with the heads of the dept to see what’s up. Will keep you posted. The silence i’ve noticed the last few days has been really pronounced!

    Like

  9. sonia roselli replied:

    Uh. It would be wrong of me to say what I really think of that! *teehee*

    have em pay your mortgage for the next few months! HA HA! And I am serious.

    Like

  10. theparisapartment replied:

    we’re both just renting but are prepared for anything! trying to stay zen about it…

    Like

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

