a woman of paris

ah the internet! i sat down to watch my new toy, the dvr record on my tv! i have a couple from charlie chaplain, just based on the names. who could resist ‘the idle class’, ‘modern times’ and this one. i didn’t know much about him, till tonight! he’s not in this one but wrote and directed it.

can’t believe i’ve been missing this!

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-2001729474211005198

http://silentgentlemen.blogspot.com/2007/09/woman-of-paris.html

supposedly they were all the wife to the life of the party, at least that was the title of a book one of the wives wrote about him!

ednapurviance.org/chaplininfo/chaplinwives.html

but wait, i’m not at the end yet but this all doesn’t strike me as comedy!

guess i always thought he was mostly a clown like laurel and hardy or the stooges, but boy was i wrong! let me know if you get to watch it!

August 3, 2008. 1920's, Films.

9 Comments

  1. Sandra Evertson replied:

    You always have the best photos!
    Sandra

    Like

  2. gabriela replied:

    Awoman of Paris, is not a comedy and much less a short. It is a wonderful film, very differant to the others Chaplin made, that is perhaps why it is less known.

    Like

  3. rochambeau replied:

    Hi Claudia,
    Thank you for stopping by Rochambeau!
    This is great information! I will watch A woman of Paris!!
    I didn’t realize that whole movies are actually online!! So, thank you for this link! I don’t think I’ve ever watched a silent film as an adult.
    Hope all is well in your world today!

    xo
    Constance

    Like

  4. cityfarmer replied:

    I need to get out more…if ya know what I mean

    Like

  5. My Mélange replied:

    Hmm, I’ll have to check that out!! I didn’t realize he had THAT many wives ;) No wonder he did silent moves…all those women, he probably didn’t get to talk much ;)

    Like

  6. sonia roselli replied:

    I just sat here and watched the entire movie! I loved it!
    Even my 11 year old step son liked it! Which is odd.

    My step son told be “I bet you wish your house looked like that huh?”
    he he…he knows me so well!

    Set design in that movie was amazing!!!!!! Thanks Claudia!!!! I loved it! Looking forward to seeing more!!!!!

    Like

  7. Debi replied:

    Hi,
    I just stumbled upon your blog and really enjoyed visiting! Fabulous photos!Charlie was a very busy man!!
    Will definitely have to watch!
    Kindest Regards,
    Debi

    Like

  8. Cindy at Rosehaven Cottage replied:

    I think we’ve been watching the same channel! The Charlie Chaplin bio has been fascinating to me too. Great stuff! I can’t help but be distracted by the furnishings and fashions (as usual);)

    Cindy

    Like

  9. Kimberly Ryan replied:

    Oh my I had no Idea he had 4 wives? Come visit my new blog C, Hugs, Kimberly

    Like

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

