my turn

hi everyone. how’s everything? all’s well here. but i do miss my paris markets.

i’ve been holding back for weeks on posting maison et objet coverage and now i can finally share it! i’m not used to censoring myself and by writing and taking pics for a team of pros like lonny’s made me have to focus and compartmentalize things.

my usual m.o. is to take tons of pics and keep them on external  hard drives and in forgotten folders. but no more! with my trusty newfound organization underway, i can happily say here’s the first installment:

maison et objet, paris 2011: upholstery trends

mixing textures and contrasting fabric on sides and top, herringbone wool fabric, two types of piping

super-soft but durable linen as upholstery, contrasting armrests, cotton rope piping

linen stripes

box mattress seats and  cushions, small graphic prints, moderne furniture

traditional techniques, durable materials like burlap

linen with a hint of metallic, pink ribbon under nailheads

edged in ribbon trim and covered-button nail heads

contrasting covered buttons in velvet

suit fabrics on sofas mixed with piped removable seat covers

cozy is key stripes=cozy

what’s underneath is just as important. traditional french furniture making allows freedom for anyone to design a chair

classic styles offer endless versatility

everything ready to be upholstered, timeless shapes, deco club chair

bright lacquer chair frames

hi gloss edges in bold colors

contrasting edges, fabric on furniture, black and white check

playfuil

ameythst linen, pink satin ribbon

navy and gray velvet chair. turquoise piping, vibrant velvets, quilting on cushions

a nod to art nouveau. contrast is the last word!

hope you enjoyed it! more tomorrow, bonne nuit!

September 30, 2011. Chairs, Furniture, Maison et Objet, Paris, Upholstery.

17 Comments

  1. nancy replied:

    off to look for some old suits !!! you inspired me ONCE AGAIN !

  2. Monica Shulman replied:

    my goodness. I’m obsessed with those nailheads and these rich, lush fabrics! the colors! everything. you know, I moved a few months ago and as I’ve been settling into our new place I think about you and your aesthetic and sensibility when I’m constantly moving my furniture around (a favorite pastime) and picking up new things. you always inspire me!

  3. Dan replied:

    Why are we drawn to those nailheads? I love them!

  4. Merillion replied:

    Hello, Claudia,
    Glad you are back. Love looking at these!
    That black&white checked chair with the red sided cushion & red at the top back, love, love it.

    Why can’t I have everything I see that I love? Why? why? :)

    On the other hand, why do I love it all so much? Don’t know. But I certainly love looking at all your photos.
    Marilyn

  5. Heather replied:

    Gorgeous Gorgeous! Thanks for sharing all the lovlies :)

  6. Heather replied:

    *lovelies!

    Hope you have a wonderful weekend!

  7. renee finberg replied:

    gorgeous details.
    you had me hooked from the first image.

    xx

  8. Teresa @ Splendid Sass replied:

    Claudia,
    This just helped make up my mind on the fabric for a channel back chair that was my Mother’s. Love the check!!
    All of these are amazing and the first is my favorite! Love the texture of hte herringbone!
    Have a great Friday.
    Teresa
    xoxo

  9. KizzyDoll replied:

    Gorgeous pieces!! xx

  10. Jean replied:

    Drool! I really want new chairs for my livingroom, but don’t want to spend the money. These photos are inspirational, but also a little depressing because I can’t have them!

  11. Karena replied:

    Claudia I am in love!! Each and every piece is superb, just exquisite!

    Thank you so much for sharing!

    xoxo
    Karena
    Art by Karena

  12. Beadboard UpCountry replied:

    Great Pictures! Some familiar!!!!HA! You lucky girl with the press pass…..
    Love it all…… Did you see a lot of that FIGUE color too!!!!!!!!! Maryanne xo

  13. Rhonda replied:

    I’d die for any of that furniture….seriously.

  14. Robyn Parrish replied:

    Bonjour, Claudia! I have been following your blog for a while now and you partially inspired my own recent trip to Paris and the flea markets! Imagine my surprise when I was at the Puce de Clignancourt last week, turned the corner, and spotted you interviewing an antiques dealer! You may have noticed me hovering for a few minutes, but I was too shy to interrupt, so I snapped a candid photo of the two of you from across the street. Hope you don’t mind! Please visit my blog for a peek: http://www.thefrenchcircus.blogspot.com. Thank you for all you do to keep us informed and dreaming in French. :) Robyn

  15. Robyn Parrish replied:

    Thank you so much for your sweet comment last night and for including a link to my little blog! I’m honoured and yours is on mine as well! Looking forward to staying in touch, mon amie! :) Robyn

  16. Upholstery + Refinishing // Giving New Life to Existing Furniture replied:

    […] Here classic nickel nails are used to accentuate the lines of the chair and striped tape (or maybe fabric) adds a whimsical border around the back. Photo via Paris Apartment […]

  17. web site replied:

    hey there and thank you for your information – I have definitely picked up something new from right here.
    I did however expertise several technical issues using this site,
    since I experienced to reload the web site many
    times previous to I could get it to load correctly.
    I had been wondering if your hosting is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will often affect
    your placement in google and could damage your high-quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords.

    Anyway I am adding this RSS to my email and can look out for much more of your respective fascinating content.
    Ensure that you update this again soon.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,560 other followers