happy father’s day, dads!

alldads

flickr.com/photos/82329524@N00

(this photo was found at a flea and i think it captures the father and child relationship to a tee. dad’s the man)!

hey guys i don’t know about you but i get emotional just thinking about my parents. they’ve both been such strong and united figures in my life that it’s hard to separate them sometimes. my dad worked for 30 years with air france and my brothers and i traveled with mom and dad everywhere from ireland to africa each year at easter break. my dad’s a foster kid who devoted his entire life to creating a stable family by creating a library in the house, having dinner together every night and being there for all of us at a moment’s notice. i love that i can pick up the phone and he can solve almost any problem i have and, l i’m getting misty, so dad, just know that i love you and wish i could be with you today!

coffee

he sent me this last week…when we’re together we always share our love of coffee and no one brews it like he does.

paris4

simplybreakfast.blogspot.com

as you may know i’m back in miami beach, cleaning up my act and finally seeing light at the end of the tunnel. now that everything is close to sorted, moved and sifted i can see what’s left to tackle and the piles are actual projects! not bills, not laundry, not jiffy lube, not schleping! before i dive in i just wanted to share some sites i came across yesterday.

dscf2116

xyzoflife.wordpress.com/2009/06/11/the-dark-side/#more-76

it’s so easy to get lost in the net and even with blogging, so i’ve been laying low. but you know you can’t open your browser without discovering something pretty and pretty amazing so i just wanted to share a few new discoveries.

teal

elizabethannedesigns.com/blog/2008/04/11/teal-and-gold

132241

darkroastedblend.com/2008/07/abandoned-castles-of-russian.html

concept_picture

greenwork.se/concept_pictures

6a00e5504d31c88833011570224c1f970c

agedandgilded.typepad.com

Sakura Aya

comesitbymyfire.blogspot.com/2009/06/simple-things.html

i promise to be back in full force this week and with an attitude adjustment. thanks for tolerating me while i went through my odgeda over all my angst. i spared you most of the gory details but am back and ready to forge ahead with glee instead of gloom. lots of it was thanks to you! i appreciate your constant support and by the by i sent out about 20 packages of the excess stuff so hope you like it! if you still want anything i have a couple packages left, just let me know!

June 21, 2009. Uncategorized.

24 Comments

  1. Pamela replied:

    A lovely roadmap to beautiful sites…as usual. Thank you. Wishing you a quiet Father’s Day with several good cups of coffee!

  2. YSLGuy replied:

    Thanks for the gorgeous new sites to browse.

  3. A Gift Wrapped Life replied:

    If you were gloomy, I didn’t notice at all! Glad the path is getting clearer Claudia and enjoy the rest of the day.

  4. Paris Hotel Boutique replied:

    Wow, gorgeous photos Claudia. Oy, now I have to check out more lovely blogs…. I was just talking to Janet this morning about how we juggle family, friends, jobs, websites, blogs, Facebook. No twittering for me…I’m too overwhelmed as it is!

    Have a great weekend!

  5. Write Girl replied:

    Beautiful sentiments. I am sure your father is very proud of you…you always unearth the loveliest photos. Such a treat to visit you.

  6. theparisapartment replied:

    thanks guys! it’s great to hear from you all today. i’ll come by for a visit.
    now that everything is staring at me it’s daunting!
    i think i’ll pay you that visit first!

  7. Bonnie replied:

    Hope you are having a lovely day thinkin about your dad and all your new projects! The pictures are fabulous and Im excited to look at the new sites!

  8. The Antiques Diva replied:

    Congrats on completing your tasks!!! It sounds like it must have been a crazy month 1/2 since I last saw you!! Great blog recommendations by the way!

  9. Judith replied:

    Hi Claudia!
    You always put things into words so beautifully! I love what you wrote about your Dad. Thank you for sharing with us.

    I am so glad you can see light at the end of the tunnel. The feeling of clarity and freedom is so worth it once everything gets decluttered and organized. Good luck with the piles of bills, laundry and all the rest! :) I can’t wait to go check out these sites, you always point me in the perfect direction!
    xoxo
    Judith~

  10. Anna replied:

    Hi Claudia,

    I can forever count on you to offer me endless inspiration. Teal is the colour of my life right now. I puffy heart this colour :)

    Anna :)

  11. xyzoflife replied:

    Thank you Claudia for being so generous.
    love your blog…
    Tina [London]

  12. Leeann replied:

    What fabulous photos, I loved the gilded chair and those old cushions are gorgeous!

    Leeann x

  13. Luscious Mango replied:

    Me some too! I’d love some of your pictures that you don’t want. and thanks for the new sites, just lovely.
    btw, check out hotelzazahouston dot com for the most fantastic looking suites, if you have not seen them already.

  14. rochambeau replied:

    Your Papa is a wonderful man. I know he knows how much you appreciate him!
    Lovely images here Claudia, all of them.

    xox
    Constance

  15. Melissa replied:

    Papa’s are the best, and being a Daddy’s Girl is the cherry on top!

    Happy week to you!

  16. FrenchBlue replied:

    Cheers to our Dear Dads!!! Cheers to us living in our world of wonder & beauty~ Thanks to our Dads for the gift of adventure~~
    XOX’s

  17. Slices of Beauty replied:

    Amazing picks!

  18. Clarity replied:

    I adore the teal and gold, along with the abandoned castles – makes me want to explore my own country’s crumbling splendour.

    Please do not belittle your “angst” or moods, I admire you for being truthful and sharing.

  19. le petit cabinet de curiosites replied:

    hope your dad had a wonderful day. Love the 1st pic. Thanks for the new links

  20. natasha replied:

    Hi Claudia

    Thanks so much for your comment on my blog :) This is such a lovely post … your dad sounds wonderful!

    As for your questions – I am renting the St Paul 1 apartment and use a Nikon D90, which I love! The photos of the apartment were taken with my latest baby, the 35mm f1.8 lens. Hope this helps!

    ~Natasha

  21. Christine replied:

    C-
    I am still inspired by your photos and narrative. I have lots of aqua, blue and teal in my house as well. In fact, I just painted my bathroom a dark greenish teal – it is gorgeous. I have my Parisian decor in it as well as my boudoir.
    Sure, I’d like a package of anything you’d like to send to me!
    California Christine

  22. Christine replied:

    p.s. how do I add a photo to my replies – you know, like all the cute ones everyone has??
    I may want to reevaluate my name, too!
    C.

  23. Relyn replied:

    Here I was all set to gush about all the lovely blogs you’ve featured and how I can’t wait to go visit them all. And then I see my own. Oh, you do know how to make a girl giddy. First a present, then this. ;^)

  24. designfabulous replied:

    I just found your blog and I am so thrilled! It is amazing. You have a lot of the same tastes as myself, it seems. So excited to dig threw your archive, and I know I will spend hours. The two french chairs in this post are amazing. I love the clever slipcover!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

  • @theparisapartment

    Cocktail table Moonlight through the clouds a place for keys The kids rolling in My Versailles Time to take a break and read something! Dedication page in It Takes a Village by Hilary Clinton Keni has Sunbrella Pucci pillows from St Tropez! Keni's Cabana 16 Thank you for my beautiful pearl of a birthday lamp Ellen! I love you! Venetian and Murano mirrored tray #fleamarketfind Beach gear Twilight in Miami Beach Simplicity The red canoe Curiosities aka "Live Smartly on What You Have" Orchids on Your Budget. Chapter 1 One of my favorite books #orchids on your budget


  • friends


    parisien salon


    shed the eclectic home


    Paris Perfect Apartment Rentals


    parishotelboutique


    frenchblue


    haven in paris


    vignettes


    a gift wrapped life


    Karen Sugarman


    Heartfish Press


    Antiques are green


    Big Brothers Big Sisters


    habitat for humanity


    Audrey Hepburn Children's Fund


  • favorites


  • archive
  • Archives



  • categories
  • 1920's Antique Shopping Architecture art Blogroll Books Decorating Design Dreams Fleamarkets Florida France Friends Furniture Holidays illustration Life Living Marie Antoinette Miami New York Paris Paris Apartments Paris Flea Markets Paris Trip Photography postaday2011 Projects Travel Uncategorized


  • Stopping at the Green Lights
  • Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 1,400 other followers